#YourFriendlyNeighborhoodDogsitter

View All
7
Photos

Sarah N.

3 Reviews
2 Repeat Guests
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

About Sarah

12 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi! My name is Sarah, and I love animals of all shapes and sizes! I currently live with 2 dogs and a cat, and I work a nanny job where I take care of 2 cats.

General: I am pretty flexible with my time generally, but I work full time during the week, so if I am sitting Monday through Friday, I will have to be able to leave the house unattended for about 8 hours a day. However, on Saturdays I can stay at the house to provide constant supervision if needed. On Sundays I will be gone for about 3 hours for church, but otherwise will be able to stay at the house.

Cat care:
The family I nanny for goes out of town from time to time and I go and take care of the kitties when they are gone. They had a senior cat who recently passed away from natural causes, but before then she required ear and oral medication twice a day, so I am experienced and comfortable with administering medication to aging cats if necessary.

Older Dog care:
My family currently has a 14 year old lab named Bear who we have raised from a puppy. He recently underwent surgery and during his recovery process he needed to take oral medication and wear a cone. He is a stubborn old dog and took to shoving his cone into furniture like a bulldozer. I would sleep downstairs with him during this time so I could help him navigate the house to go outside without breaking his cone. I would also administer some of his medicine. I am accustomed to responding to Bear barking in the middle of the night to go outside and helping him up and down stairs when he needs to since his back legs are getting weaker with age. I also have experience bathing him and keeping him as comfortable as possible as he doesn't care for baths much and could easily hurt himself trying to escape from the tub.

Dog Walking: Our family has two medium sized dogs, and they are both leash pullers, so if you are afraid to hire someone to walk your dog because your dog yanks at the leash, that is not an issue for me. :) I have learned to control them and to avoid other dogs and people walking by on the sidewalk when the dogs get too excited. I also have experience using a "Gentle Leader" harness, which is an extremely useful leash training tool for leash pullers.

Puppy care:
I understand that having a puppy is like having a toddler: they are always into something, and they have to be closely supervised and potty trained. My sister has a pretty young dog, and was just a puppy a couple of years ago, so I have the puppy experience fresh in my mind. :)

Reptile/amphibian care:
I recently cared for a pet toad who eats crickets; I am willing and able to feed any kind of necessary food to any kind of animal. I personally love snakes, and hope to have one of my own someday. :)

Rodent care:
I have experience feeding a pet rat; am able to follow feeding instructions for any kind of hamster, Guinea pig, hedgehog, etc.

Fish Care:
I have owned fish in the past; I am willing and able to feed the fish, however I don't really feel comfortable cleaning the tanks.

Bird Care:
If given enough instruction I feel comfortable feeding, handling, and caring for birds in any way necessary.

Tarantula care:
I have handled tarantulas before, and felt comfortable with them in case that is a concern for finding someone to care for them. :)

Basically, if you have an animal that needs care, I am able to follow instructions and take care of what needs to be done, and I am not afraid of a new learning experience!
Read More about Sarah...
Contact Sarah
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Sarah N.

3 Reviews
2 Repeat Guests
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated August 26, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$25 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for more than 4 hours/day
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Dog Walking
$10 /half-hour
$20 /hour
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Home Visits
$15 /visit
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Baths
$10 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$15 each way
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
More Services
3 Reviews
Sarah was great! Super easy to contact and set up a last minute walk!
She was very professional during our meet and greet, then all my babies loved her. She asked correct questions to make sure she knew how to handle situations of each pets care. I would recommend her!
Sarah came over and let my guy out, fed him, and played with him for a bit. Getting in contact with her at the last minute wasn't a problem which I really appreciated and I'm sure the dog enjoyed even more.