Young Urban Poopfessional

View All
28
Photos

paula c.

80 Reviews
29 Repeat Guests
$50/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 1.6 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated

paula's Resident Pets

Pemex
Border Collie
Female
6 yr 4 mo old

paula's House

View Neighborhood Map
Large Yard
100% fenced
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Smoke-free home

About paula

30 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I have a HUGE YARD, and am a walk away from a park and the beach. I work from home as a writer/artist as well as have a homemade organic dog food company. I like to take frequent breaks from working on my computer so playing and loving the pups is my usual "go to" for a break. Also a great source of procrastination!

I have a sunny two bedroom house in the heart of Venice with a big front yard and amazing neighbors (with and without dogs) who love to come by and say hello to my dog, Pemex, and all the pups that come to stay with us. The property is completely enclosed so I usually have the doors and windows open all day long. Otherwise, if your more comfortable, I can put up a gate at the front door and they can hang out and watch the street from the house with the door open. And then I can let your pup out frequently through out the day under my supervision . I have a park near to my house which I like to drop by on my walks as well and we could also make arrangements to take your dog for a hike or a walk down to the beach. I am always very thoughtful about the mix when I might have more than one dog here. And open to discussion about what is best if your dog is shy etc. Trust me! I am not happy if the pups are not super happy!

I do daycare (half & full day), overnights (mine or yours), walks, and day trips to the beach in Huntington at the dog beach. If you are interested in a beach day, you can contact me because there is not an option on the "rates" section on the Dogvacay site.

I have a yoga mat in the back of my car so if you need me to drop or pickup for any reason the pups don't slide around in the car.

I found my dog Pemex when she was a malnourished puppy in a gas station in Mexico. She is probably a Collie/Lab mix and about 4 years old now. She is super mellow (but loves to play too on the occasion), loves children, and gets along with all other dogs (very gentle).

I have had 4 dogs throughout my life: a Mutt, a Schnauzer, a Pug, and Pemex and I have highly trained them all myself to walk off leash etc.

Since I was 5 years old, my dream was to become a vet until I was applying to school at 17 and was advised by my doctor and family not to because of allergies. I was devastated but got my degree in psychology and neuroscience instead, and subsequently I grew out of my allergies. So as you can imagine I couldn't be happier with the recent somewhat cathartic turn of events of boarding, caring for dogs, as well as healing them with food etc, (while I can continue to work on my art).

The inspiration for my dog food company originally came from my Pug GeeGee who was diagnosed with cancer when she was 3 years old. I began researching homeopathic and herbal medicine and started making homemade food for her. She wound up living until she was 15 years old. When I found Pemex, I used that same knowledge about homemade real food to nurse Pemex back to health. She was in really bad shape (organ failure from lack of nutrition, couldn't stand up etc). Now she couldn't be healthier.


I do have to ask that if your dog has actually ever been aggressive (actual biting, not regular growling to communicate they want their space etc) that we make arrangements to have Pemex go to her Daddy/my ex's house who I found her with in Mexico and lives around the corner. Then I can also give your dog my one on one attention. This is very easy for me to arrange as Pemex loves to go to her Dad's and is there often anyway!

I can also provide you with plenty of references outside of DogVacay as well upon request!
Read More about paula...
Contact paula
Can administer oral medicine
CPR / First-Aid certified
Can administer injected medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Separation anxiety
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Leash Pulling
  • Advanced senior issues

paula c.

80 Reviews
29 Repeat Guests
$50/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 1.6 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated April 24, 2017

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Community Mentor
One of DogVacay's top Hosts and a mentor to new members of our Host community.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
References Checked
Our team reaches out to each of our host's references to provide an extra level of confidence and verification.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At paula's Home
$50 /night
  • Watches up to 5+ dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At paula's Home
$40 /day
  • Watches up to 5+ dogs/day
Dog Walking
$20 /half-hour
$35 /hour
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Check-ins
$22 /visit
  • Willing to travel 7 miles
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 7 miles
More Services
80 Reviews
Paula has a doggie heaven at her amazing place! Otto had the best time, so many friends to play with, and Paula took very thoughtful care of him. She was super communicative, sent great pics, and is clearly an expert with dogs. Highly recommend her doggie palace.
Read More...
Paula did a great job, and sent a video of the walk. Would repeat.
My Lab Maggie stayed with Paula for 2 weeks over Christmas. She had a great time and came home happy and content. All communication was clear and easy. Paula also sent pics and videos throughout Maggie's stay. I certainly recommend Paula as a great dogvacay option
Read More...
Read All 80 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!