Walter's Dog Fort

View All

Walter D.

6 Reviews
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Vaccinated

Walter's Resident Pets

Labrador Retriever
5 yr 7 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Caged birds or Reptiles

Walter's House

View Neighborhood Map
Large Yard
100% fenced & locked
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets

About Walter

6 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hello fellow furbaby parent! My name is Walter , (I go by my middle name Mark mostly) I'm a college graduate from the College of Charleston with a B.S. in Psychology, specializing in child life/developmental psych. previously, I worked part-time for a company that provides ABA therapy services to developmentally disabled children. I work from home now mostly, which allows me to cultivate my real passion, which is taking care of animals, especially doggos!

I have owned 3 Labradors over the course of my life, all of whom have gone through AKC approved training classes (with myself as the primary caregiver for 2 of them) My current furbaby, Duke, is lab mix who is 100% trained and housebroken, and loves to play with his rubber pigs!

I live at my home in Mount Pleasant, SC, right around the corner from Towne Centre. The home is on a plot of land that is just shy of a full acre. I have a large backyard and a large front yard. The neighborhood is VERY dog friendly, and my house has a full, non-separated fence that encompasses the entirety of the quite large backyard.

A little bit about Duke and I... Duke is a rescue dog who I adopted back in early 2012. He was abused by his previous owner and was about to be taken to a kill-shelter until I took him in. Because of his previous abuse, I took him to professional training and socialization classes over the course of about 1 1/2 years, and because of that and his new loving environment, is a wonderful pup (i still call him pup).

I'm experienced with aggressive animals, older animals, puppies, you name it. If you have special instructions/requests for your pet while in my care, I will be more than happy to oblige. If you have any questions/comments/concerns, please feel free to call me or email me.

**NOTE: I have no other pets at home except Duke, the only reason I selected "reptiles" for other animals at the home, is because it was a "required field" for some reason, and there is the occasional lizard that hops around the area.
Read More about Walter...
Contact Walter
Can administer oral medicine
CPR / First-Aid certified
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Walter D.

6 Reviews
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:


  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated February 20, 2017


Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Walter's Home
$30 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 1 walk/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
$15 /bath
$5 each way
  • Willing to travel 25 miles
6 Reviews
Walt and Cat (Kat?) are absolutely amazing. They kept my 10-month-old GSD for 9 nights while my boyfriend and I were on vacation and he absolutely loved it. We expected him to be thrilled when we came to pick him up and he was barely phased because he was having so much fun. Walt was great about sending pics and message updates while we were away, and he has a huge fenced in yard that Wilde loved playing in. Will definitely be using them again any time we are out of town. Thanks again!
Mark watched my dog for 2 days. He has a great big backyard. Will definitely use him again.
If you're looking for a solid place to house your fur babies for a period of time...go with this guy. I left my Lily (Boxer/Pit mix female) with Walter and his wife while I went to CA for Christmas to visit with family. Lily has always been fairly anti-social with other dogs, even aggressive towards. Having her for about 8 months, it's been a slow road socializing her. I'm gone four days to CA and Walter sends me some videos of Lily playing with his dog and another dog he was sitting dude is the Dog Whisperer. No joke. Hands down.
Walter was great with our doggie! Very flexible to meet him before our stay and easy to communicate through email and text. He sent pics of our Marley which made us feel at ease while away....our first time ever leaving her but could see she felt at home on the couch :). Amazing fenced in backyard! Would definitely use Walter again.
Our dog Piper had a ton of fun at Walter's Dog Fort. He and Duke got along so well; all they wanted to do was run in the big backyard. We received a video showing us how much he liked it there. We will stay with them again!
Walter & "Cat" Catherine were so wonderful. They came to mine and Zoe's rescue when we needed someone to take care of her on sush short notice.
Great fenced in back yard with lots of room to run and play.
Zoe had great fun and won't mind going back if the need arises again!
Read All 6 Reviews