Very Experienced Dog Lover!

View All
7
Photos

Julie M.

$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Breeds Not Accepted
Akita, Pit Bull - American Staffordshire Terrier, Pit Bull - Bull Terrier, Cane Corso, Pit Bull - Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Pit Bull - American Pit Bull Terrier

Julie's Resident Pets

Oakley
Labrador Retriever
Male
60 old
Wyatt
Labrador Retriever
Male
24 old
Other Pets & Animals: Cats, Chicken, ducks, turkeys, or other birds

Julie's House

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced & locked
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture

About Julie

20 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I've been a dog lover all of my life and an dog owner for over 20 years. During and immediately after college, I worked at Dove Lewis and at a daytime vet clinic. Later, I co-founded a Lab rescue and during my tenure on the Board, fostered over 20 retrievers of some sort. Currently, I am an approved foster home for Golden Bond Rescue (my dogs have been checked out to ensure they will not pose a danger to foster dogs, yard was checked for safety and security, home was looked at to ensure safety and comfort, background check, etc.) and am actively involved in the canine community. I do competitive obedience with my Labs and am a Board member for the local Lab club. I regularly dog-sit for friends in my home and occasionally still foster for Golden Bond.

My home is in SE Portland near Woodstock. It is pretty small, but very dog friendly. I have crates and/or baby gates if required. There are lots of toys to play with and dog beds to snooze on. I also have a really nice wood stove to stretch out in front of in the winter. In the summer I keep my house cool and comfortable. I have a large fenced yard for potty breaks and spending time in the summer, supervised, of course. The dogs have a kiddie pool to play in all summer as well.

I have an indoor cat. She is trusting of dogs, so no cat-aggressive dogs can be accommodated. Curious or playful dogs are fine. She sometimes plays with my Labs. In the yard I have chickens and ducks. Both are in their pens when strange dogs are over to ensure their safety.

My two Labs love having company and play very well with others. There is no possessiveness over toys or territorialism over the property, home or dog beds. They are both neutered males, each 80 + lbs, up to date on vaccination and on flea prevention, and are five and two years old. They have no behavior issues. My boys are respectful of another dog's space once the excitement wears off, but a dog that is easily intimidated, afraid of being stepped on or shy may not work with these friendly and exuberant boys. If your dog loves to play, be chased, chase, do a little wrestling and tug, then nap together for a bit, this is the place to be!

Because of my work schedule, I typically only dog-sit on weekends (Friday through Monday), However, once a dog has been over a time or two and has settled in, we can revisit that policy. Also, during the holidays things are typically quiet for me and I work from home a lot. I am OK feeding a raw diet and have no problems giving pills. I cannot take dogs that have ever shown human or dog aggression of any kind and frail/injured dogs would probably not do well here. I will take up to two dogs from the same home.

For exercise, the dogs play together a lot. I won't let your dog off-leash unless he is in my home or yard. We go on walks as well, depending on how well your dog does with leash walking. On weekends I can take the dogs on longer walks, nature trails, etc. The wrestling and playing between the dogs typically wears everyone out pretty well.

Please let me know if you have any questions about me, my home or my dogs!
Read More about Julie...
Contact Julie
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Leash Pulling

Julie M.

$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 4, 2015

Credentials

Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Julie's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for more than 4 hours/day
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want