Three Dogs and a Lady

View All
23
Photos

Jessica L.

5 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$50/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Responds within 8 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

Jessica's Resident Pets

Chauncy
Longhaired dachshund/corgi-retreiver-Heinz57
Male
4 old
Bucky
Wirehaired terrier
Male
2 old
Other Pets & Animals: Cats

Jessica's House

View Neighborhood Map
Outdoor area

About Jessica

Hi there! I’m an editor, a columnist, a blogger, a ghostwriter, a playwright, a reader, a roadtripper and a mother. My two beautiful boys have four legs and pee outside.

One of my regular ghostwriting gigs is for a dog trainer with 40-plus years of experience with dogs of all shapes, sizes and issues. I've acquired an extensive well of knowledge about our furry companions and their human counterparts over the past eight years of working and writing with him.

A few years ago, my love of dogs led me to start fostering for Much Love Animal Rescue. Fostering rescued dogs is beyond rewarding, and I did it up until the day I joined the ranks of proud foster failures. Now I have two dogs who enrich me, protect me, amuse me and exercise me -- with the added benefit of being delightful office-mates who keep me company during the week while I work at home as a full-time editor and writer.

My "aha" moment regarding DogVacay came recently, when I turned to the site as an alternative to traditional boarding facilities, which, no matter how reputable and professional, always left me feeling in the dark and a little bit guilty. With the exception of a couple of days in doggie daycare, I've had the good fortune of being able to rely on friends and family when I've had to be away from my little monsters. And since I work at home, it occurred to me that I would love to be able to eliminate that "in the dark" feeling for someone else. I titled this profile "Three Dogs and a Lady" mostly because I prefer not to host more than one dog at a time, but also as a shout-out to the playful adventures and sweet bonds of that late-'80s classic "Three Men and a Lady."

My dogs' home is your dog's home, and during your pup's stay, he or she will have full access to the front of the house, which is where I work, as well as to the fully enclosed yard, which I can see from where I work. The dogs have ins and outs all day long, constant access to fresh water, multiple dog beds, sofas and chairs for lounging inside or basking in the sun, and "lunch" or "snacks" as directed by you.

Your dog, along with mine, will be treated to one hour-long walk through my beautiful Venice neighborhood. It's a matter of great pleasure to get out and sniff the world! For dogs who stay on weekends, the adventure might very well extend beyond the neighborhood. As you can see from the pictures, I love to treat my furry munchkins to little bites of the great big world.

Random 411:

I wrote my first play when I was 8, a murder mystery starring my little brother in the critically acclaimed role of the cruel villain, Ebeneeezer. That’s right: three “e’s.”

Current addiction: Rectify

Previous addiction: Orange Is the New Black

Currently reading: Easy Riders/Raging Bulls, Bird by Bird

Just finished: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Beautiful Boy

Current movie recommend: Boyhood

Guilty pleasures: cookies, grilled cheese, New Orleans, long showers

Things that make me want to do more, better, something: Best Friends Animal Society, Much Love Animal Rescue, CASA for Children, Sea Shepherd, people who cook

Dirty little secret: I’m in the newspaper business but haven’t had to wash ink from my hands in years.

Take-to-the-grave secret: my political affiliation. I edit right, left and center, so my political affiliation is none of my business.
Read More about Jessica...
Contact Jessica

Jessica L.

5 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$50/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Responds within 8 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated March 9, 2016

Credentials

Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Jessica's Home
$50 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$50 /night
  • Willing to travel 3 miles
Daycare At Jessica's Home
$40 /day
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$30 /half-hour
$40 /hour
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Home Visits
$25 /visit
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Baths
$20 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$15 each way
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
More Services
5 Reviews
Jessica and her pack were super friendly and a great option for my guy to spend the weekend with. Jessica showed great care in getting to know my dog and approached socializing him with her dogs really well. Could not have been happier. 5 stars for Pawsome!
Read More...
Jessica is wonderful! Our 15 year old Beagle spent a day with her and had a great time. Jessica is so attentive to each dog's needs, and has a lovely, dog friendly house/yard, which is perfect for the dogs.
Her dogs were friendly and got along well with our dog. We plan to book her again in the future! We highly recommend her for expert doggie care :)
Read More...
We couldn't have asked for a better host! Jessica's home was idyllic for our little guy :). It was safe and extremely dog friendly. She sent us pics throughout our vacation and kept us updated. We highly recommend Jessica and her lovely little doggies!
Read More...
Jessica sent great pictures of Coop, was very responsive and he got a chance to live with some little dogs for a change and get over his fear of cats. I will definitely leave Coop with Jessica and her furry family. Thank you for hanging with Mr. Cooper!
Read More...
Jessica was an incredible host for our Roxy. Her home and two dogs were so welcoming and made Roxy and us feel right at home. We received daily updates and pictures that put huge smiles on our face knowing Roxy was with such a wonderful person. Roxy had a great vacation and we truly appreciate Jessica for her care. This was our first experience with dogvacay and it worked out great.
Read More...
Read All 5 Reviews