The Doctor's Companion Dog Sitting

View All
5
Photos

Jem L.

8 Reviews
7 Repeat Guests
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 10 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Vaccinated
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

Jem's Resident Pets

Totoro
Pembroke Welsh Corgi
Male
2 yr 1 mo old

Jem's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Outdoor area
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets

About Jem

10 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi there!

My name is Jem and I'm currently a student at Claremont Graduate University. My boyfriend Ian and I have always loved dogs; my house growing up was a pomeranian rescue and senior center. Since moving out to California, we've adopted a little furball of our own, named Totoro. He's a wild one, but always down for fun, so we definitely know how to play! Since Totoro is already a family member, and we live in an apartment, we're only able to host smaller dogs not much bigger than he is here at our home (less than 40 lbs). However, if you have a larger dog that needs love and care, we'd be more than willing to travel out to you! I'd love to meet your dogs and give them a great time and lots of fun! That's why I believe dog sitting is a great opportunity for me. Your dog will have safe and loving people to take care of them and play with them while you're away, and we'll get to share some of our compassion with your companion!

Why I love dog sitting
I've been a dog lover my entire life! Got my first puppy when I was just about 12 or 13 years old. As I got older, my mother turned our house into a pomeranian rescue and senior center, so there were constantly tons of little fluffballs running around!

What Jem would like to know about your dog

-What will you be bringing for your dog?
-Any specifics I should know about their eating, sleeping, or walking schedule? I want to make sure they're as comfortable as possible!
-Any medical conditions I should know about? Do they experience separation anxiety?
-What types of treats do they usually get?
-What kind of toys do they like most?
-Lastly, emergency contact information and vet information, just to be safe. :)

No breed preferences, but since I'm a small person, anything over 100lbs is too much for me to take care of, and we'll only have dogs under 40lbs in our apartment.
Read More about Jem...
Contact Jem
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling

Jem L.

8 Reviews
7 Repeat Guests
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 10 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 2, 2016

Credentials

Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Jem's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$30 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Willing to travel 20 miles
Daycare At Jem's Home
$25 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Home Visits
$12 /visit
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
More Services
8 Reviews
What a relief to have found Jem and her boyfriend, Ian. They made scheduling super easy, and though she was out of town, her boyfriend agreed to watch our fur babies. It was just overnight, but we are very attached to our pets and worry when we are gone. Ian sent many updates including videos and pictures. I am so glad we have found responsible and nice people to stay with our girls while we are gone.
Read More...
Our boys' second stay with Jem and her boyfriend was great! Loved seeing frequent picture updates of the pups just hanging out and having fun. An emergency situation happened causing some medical issues with one of them and Jem handled it wonderfully, including a vet visit, medication administration, and lots of TLC. When we came back, he was completely nursed back to health and just as happy as can be:) Thanks again guys!
Read More...
Jem and her boy friend were great host. Our dog was his normal happy self when we picked him up after his two night stay. would recommend this host. Will definitely be using Jem as our host in the future.
Jem is amazing! She is very quick to respond to messages and texts. I was really impressed when she asked a lot of questions regarding our boys' walking/feeding schedules, health concerns, what they liked to do, treats, toys, etc. She really showed interest in making sure they would be comfortable with their overnight stay. Our pups were supposed to stay with her for 2 nights but plans got cancelled at the very last minute, and Jem was more than accomodating with the change of plans. We got text and picture updates showing the boys having a good time! We will definitely look to her for future dogsitting needs. Thanks Jem!:)
Read More...
She was wonderful. Very nice and did great with my dog.
Jem was outstanding. I needed a sitter last minute and she accommodated my schedule. She sent me updates and photos of Bella the entire time I was away. The entire experience was smooth and worry free. I highly recommend Jem's services and I would definitely have her watch Bella in the future.
Read More...
Jem is terrific. I've left my 2-year old shepherd mix with Jem twice while traveling (both times for several days). She is very fast on email, extremely welcoming, and very accommodating. It is clear that Jem has lots of experience with dogs- she checks in about special needs before the first visit and sends photos and updates daily. She also has a large park nearby, so dogs get plenty of excercise. Most telling of all, though, my dog was very excited to see her when we returned at the start of the second trip and looked very happy when I picked him up at the end of both trips. I highly recommend Jem!
Read More...
Jem and her boyfriend were amazing hosts to my 11 month old pup Evie! I received daily photo updates and Evie always looked like she was enjoying herself. Jem was very responsive and attentive to both my questions and Evie's needs. Evie came home exhausted and slept soundly probably because she had such a great time at Jem's! I can definitely tell that Jem and her boyfriend love dogs and treat them like family! Thank you Jem! We'll definitely be using your services again!
Read More...
Read All 8 Reviews