San Diego Pet Care

View All

Max Bernard H.

1 Review
1 Repeat Guest
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2.3 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

Max Bernard's Home

View Neighborhood Map

About Max Bernard

20 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi there! My name's Max. I'm a 25 year old NYU graduate who just moved to San Diego.

I was ready for a break from my full-time projects in NY and am now in CA on an adventure and free to help!

Back home in New York, I have three older sisters, three big dogs, and two amazingly adorable nephews named William and Henry. Molly (120lbs, female, 11 yrs old) and Johnny (80lbs, female, 7 yrs old) are pure bred German Shepherds, and Loki (50lbs, female, 2 yrs old) is a mixed bred German Shepard. Growing up, my family also had cats, fish, rabbits, gerbils, lizards, chickens, cows, and horses.

What do I miss most about being in New York? My pups, of course...don't tell my mom that though :-)

I'd love to meet your pets/friends! The time I spend with your pets will be entirely based on their needs; I'm young & active with a lifetime's worth of experience taking care of all sorts of animals. You can rest assured that your furry or not so furry friends will be in good hands; your pets will receive my full attention. From a leisurely walk along the beach to a trip to the dog park to a hike through the woods, I will make sure your dog is feeling well exercised, happy, and fulfilled. Does your dog have a favorite hangout spot or activity? Let me know, and we'll incorporate that into our day together.

I absolutely love animals, and I will treat yours as if they were my own. Can't wait to meet 'em!
Read More about Max Bernard...
Contact Max Bernard
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Separation anxiety
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues
  • Aggressive behavior

Max Bernard H.

1 Review
1 Repeat Guest
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2.3 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:


  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated January 4, 2017


Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Max Bernard's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 4 dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets will sleep in their own beds
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$40 /night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • Willing to travel 25 miles
Daycare At Max Bernard's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 5 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 25 miles
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 25 miles
$35 /hour
$30 /min
$50 /max
$15 /bath
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 25 miles
More Services
2 Testimonials
Nov 2016
Max is someone that grew up with dogs, and really understands what goes into looking after them. It's hard for people who don't have dogs to really understand the relationship between dog and owner. Max is someone that does, and will treat your pet like his own.
Nov 2016
Max has grown up in a family that always had pets.
At home we have three German shepherds and a poodle.
One of the shepherds belongs to max. Loki.
We also had two cats, Louey and Boo.

We can send photos if need be.
Max is a sympathetic animal lover with a degree from NYU.
Please feel free to call me
Marshall Knopf

1 Review
This was the first time using Max. Would not feel comfortable using him again because he never met us either at drop-off or pick up even after confirming he would be available. We were lucky his roommate (who was very nice) was willing to take our dog or we would've had to miss our flight. This did not leave us feeling good about the situation. Same thing happened during pick up. Even though he confirmed meeting time, he was not there to meet us and we had to pick our dog up at a different location from strangers who didn't seem to know much about Kona. No updates about our dog while we were away. Not dependable at all. I cannot, in good conscience, recommend him to other dog owners.
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!