Rachel's UES Animal Haven!

View All
22
Photos

Rachel M.

5 Reviews
$40/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 20 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

Rachel's Resident Pets

Other Pets & Animals: Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents

Rachel's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Rachel

17 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
My name is Rachel and I live in an apartment on the Upper East Side. I have raised, cared for, and trained animals in my home since I was 10 years old including dogs, cats, exotics, small mammals, birds and reptiles. We always had quite the menagerie! I own a guinea pig named nugget who has been socialized with cats and dogs who is caged at my home. I love to care for and board my friends and families pets while they are in need. My experience with dogs includes small toy breeds all the way to extra large size dogs. I am also comfortable with caring for elderly, sick, and special needs animals as well as administering medication. I board up to 2 dogs at a time and they have free run of my apartment, so you can be assured your pup gets lots of time and love spent with me. During the week, I work from home, so my schedule has the flexibility to suit your requests.

My apartment is a large 3 bedroom and is in a pet friendly 5th floor walk-up building with a animal loving roommate who works weekdays. I live around the corner from Ruppert Park, and a short walk to Carl Shurtz Park on the Upper East side where two dog runs are available for your dog to exercise and play! I am also a 15 minute walk to central park which is perfect for active dogs who enjoy longer walks. My home is also located near the Animal Medical Center 24-hour hospital (in case of emergency). I would be happy to provide daily updates for you and am happy to accommodate special requests.

I am punctual, honest, trustworthy, and kind. I will make sure your pet is provided a safe, and caring environment while you are away. I look forward to making you and your pet a part of my extended family!
Read More about Rachel...
Contact Rachel
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling

Rachel M.

5 Reviews
$40/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 20 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 8, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Home Checked
This Host has successfully passed our in-person verification visit and completed our 1-on-1 training program.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Web Training Complete
This sitter has completed an online presentation meant to provide an overview of sitting responsibilities.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Rachel's Home
$40 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$50 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Daycare At Rachel's Home
$30 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$18 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Home Visits
$25 /visit
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
More Services
5 Reviews
Home Checked
Rachel will make an excellent host for your dog! She works from home in a large two bedroom apartment so your dog will have plenty of space to play. She has a great personality and prefers to host only one dog so you won't have to worry about other dogs being there. She has watched her friends' dogs in the past and will treat you and your dog like her new friends. I highly recommend her services.
Read More...
We were very happy with Rachel's care of our dog while we were away. Rachel sent us daily updates and photos. Kix got many walks each day, which was great because our dog is still pretty young and thrives on the exercise and attention. We would definitely trust Rachel to care for our dog in the future. We can tell that Kix enjoyed her stay in Rachel's home, because we've since run into Rachel's roommate in our neighborhood a couple of times, and Kix always gives her a big greeting.
Read More...
I had a great experience with Rachel. I left the country for 11 days and Rachel took Zoey (80lb American Bulldog) on relatively short notice. I received regular update photos and messages which alleviated my anxiety of having to leave Zoey with a new sitter while I was so far away.

I will use Rachel again and strongly recommend her to anyone looking for a sitter, and peace of mind.
Read More...
Rachel was lovely, and loving. She kept our Bella happy and active. We got lots of cute pictures. I'm so glad to have her in my neighborhood to take care of Bella.
Rachel was an awesome caretaker for Teddy! Not only was Teddy exhausted from his long day of playing, but Rachel was able to accomodate my last minute travel needs - which is a huge plus for me. She also sent me picture updates and messages throughout the day which was great!!
I will definitely be a repeat customer :)
Read More...
I used Rachel for her dog walking services and was definitely pleased with the overall experience! We met up beforehand so that she could walk my pup with me and ask me any questions about her walking habits to make sure she was well taken care of. While in Rachel's care I got text and picture updates, which was great to see that my pup was enjoying her walks without me there. I would definitely use Rachel again and recommend her to anyone looking for a dog walker!
Read More...
Read All 5 Reviews