Pets are Family~

View All
7
Photos

Emily W.

$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

Emily's Resident Pets

Freya
Labrador Retriever
Female
5 yr 7 mo old
Ari
Mutt
Male
5 yr 7 mo old

About Emily

20 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I will look after any animal, not just dogs, so please don't hesitate to ask. I offer sliding scale for those who have multiple pets.

I also provide Reiki/Angel Therapy/Spiritual Medicine for animals. $20 per session, or free in addition to another service.

I have been taking care of & rescuing animals since I was a child. I have experience with a wide variety of different animals, from squirrels & turtles, to cats & dogs. Currently I have 2 dogs, named Freya & Ari, that I adopted from the Canyon County Animal Shelter (now the West Valley Humane Society) in Caldwell Idaho (which I purposely went out of my way to since animals get adopted out at a higher rate from the Boise Idaho Humane Society), & 2 chinchillas named Biscuit & Pepper. Biscuit actually has a noncontagious hereditary medical condition called malocclusion, to which I drive her down about once a month to Salt Lake City for treatment.

I was the prime Foster Parent for Exotics at the ASPCA, mainly African Pygmy Hedgehogs, since 1995. I worked stable hand during the summers of 1994 & 1995 at a local horse stable. I have been pet sitting/house sitting since 1997. From '00-'05 I worked as a Wildlife Educator at the Bronx Zoo, & volunteered at the ASPCA in NYC as a dog/cat socializer, & dog walker (Please note, I have no experience in dog training). I have also studied Veterinarian Medicine, natural pet remedies, & pet nutrition on the side as a hobby.

I am a Home Maker at the moment, so your pet will get extended visits when I am watching them at your home. "House Sitting" option is where I go to my client's home and stay overnight, taking care of their dogs and home. "Drop-In Visits" option is where I stop by my client's home while they're away a few times a day. I do not charge by the half hour, but by the day (so for example a person who wants me to stay 2 hours would be the same price as a person that wants me to stay 30 minutes with their pet). I do this because I know vacations/traveling/moving can be expensive, & days add up quick, so this way my clients stay happy saving money.

I'm just a person that loves animals =)

I prefer to house sit instead of boarding at my own home (with the the exception of caged animals). I prefer this because over the years I notice most dogs have more issues adjusting in a new environment while their humans are away. This can result in issues such as marking when a dog is already house trained. It is also safer for your own pet- Most kennels or places where you have a gathering of dogs from multiple places can increase this chance of your dog catching fleas & other pathogens. Say for example a past clients dog has fleas, it can transfer to my house, & then to your dog if he stays afterwards. That is a situation I would like to prevent as it is my top priority to make sure your pet is healthy & safe.

I would like to know of any medical issues; habits, rules, or schedules they are used to; any behavioral problems or separation anxiety; which commands you use so that I can stick with what they know; feeding instructions; how long of a walk they usually get; any other chores you would like me to do during house sitting (i.e. take out trash to the curb, bring in mail, etc).

Dogs will enjoy walks longer than 30 minutes at a time; fetch & other playful activities; doggy massages, brushing, & hugs. Dogs will have access to both outside & inside the house. They will be offered treats (if owner is ok with it) & praises for good behavior. I believe talking to your pets helps them acclimate to my presence & feel more at ease. I can also make multiple visits a day, or stay during the whole day to keep your pet company (your choice).
Read More about Emily...
Contact Emily
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Emily W.

$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated October 31, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$30 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Home Visits
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 10 miles