Pet Zen - Capital Hill

View All
3
Photos

Melanie J.

$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds

Melanie's Resident Pets

Miso
Yorkshire Terrier
Male
0 yr 11 mo old

Melanie's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Melanie

32 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Welcome, and thank you for viewing my listing! As someone who has grown up around dogs, cats, and horses, and has fostered dogs and cats for the Humane Society for over five years, I come with lots of hands on experience with many different breeds and temperaments. I am a short walk from several parks, and the Platte River Trail in the beautiful and central Capital Hill neighborhood!

Plus, at no extra charge, I can provide one scheduled webcam visit for you and your pet during they day or evening for daycare/boarding clients, and I will update you daily with photos of things that we are up to!

(Please Note: Because I have a small breed dog, I would ask that you not obtain boarding or daycare services if your pet has aggression issues towards smaller dogs, but any other services are fine.)

A typical day for us is getting up and immediately going for a 30 minute walk to get the day started and work up an appetite. Then breakfast for everyone. After that we all pile on the bed and I do some work for a while. Then we do some playtime, and practice our commands for treats or toys (depending on if your dog is food motivated or not.) Once we have had a snack, we go for a 60 minute walk to Cheesman Park for some sunshine. If it is snowing we do a brisk walk to Quality Hill park, and then everyone gets a towel down, and snuggle time under the heated blanket. Then I usually cook and do chores. I like to take this opportunity to reinforce commands using treats or toys. As a reward, we go on another 30 to 60 minute walk just before dark. After dark, we all have dinner, and then we pile up on the bed together to watch some TV and relax. I always like to do a little bit of brushing or dog massage with them around this time to wind down for the evening, but it depends on the dog. Some can find it overstimulating, and in those cases, I will do a little dab of lavender on myself or just behind their ears to help them relax instead. Then right before bed we do a quick run & pee around the block just to make sure there are no accidents overnight. If you have further instructions for your pet, I would be happy to adapt or accommodate.

If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer them, and thank you again for taking the time to read my listing!


Warm Regards,
Melanie Anne Johnson
Read More about Melanie...
Contact Melanie
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling

Melanie J.

$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated April 24, 2016

Credentials

Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Melanie's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$50 /night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Daycare At Melanie's Home
$25 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Home Visits
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
More Services