Pet Retreat & Training Temp. Closed

View All
32
Photos

Kristen C.

8 Reviews
$40/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 8 mins
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

Kristen's Resident Pets

Thor
Mastiff
Male
84 old
Loki
Other
Male
12 old
Other Pets & Animals: Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents

Kristen's House

View Neighborhood Map
Children at home (5-12 years old)
Large Yard
Partially fenced
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Smoke-free home

About Kristen

21 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Updates & News

While I love dogs of all shapes and sizes, I am currently only accepting small dogs under 25 pounds. Larger dogs will be considered on a case by case basis, so please send me a general inquiry and let's work on a Meet and Greet with your larger dog. My own dog is a giant breed and is getting to be elderly. Larger dogs, especially energetic ones, are finding it harder and harder to find their place in our home and we want everyone to be happy and healthy while they are here! I will not be booking stays for dogs from more than one household at a time, with a few special exceptions from regular guests at my home (you know who you are!). Since I do accept bookings through several different services, please be sure to communicate with me about your dog, dates they need care and when you want to come out for a Meet and Greet.


Where Your Pup Is Our Family

Your pup's happiness is my priority! While your dog stays with me, they will have free access to the entire house. I have a special dog-room set aside with a large, comfortable couch and secure space for feeding and sleeping, if needed. I am a stay-at-home mother, so there will always be someone here with your beloved pup. If I must leave the house, they will be kept in the dog-room until I return, which is hardly ever more than 2 hours. We require a copy of your dog's rabies certificate and ask that your dog wear their rabies tag and dog license while visiting with us. If your dog has a crate that they are used to using, please bring that if you have the space in your vehicle (or ask us if we can help you to transport!) and enough food for their stay with us, so we can make sure your pup doesn't have any stomach upsets from dietary changes while they are with us.

My Experience
I have a lifetime of experience working with dogs, both in a professional and personal setting. I worked at the Humane Society where I learned the ins and outs of caring for all sizes and breeds of dogs, including administering medication and shots, giving baths and basic grooming, etc. I have a tried and true, very humane training technique based on positive reinforcement that I am also willing to share with others who are interested. It is this training technique that helped out many animals who I fostered for a rescue group several years ago and gave them the skills they needed to find loving forever homes.

I Love Sitting Dogs
It is true, I adore dogs of all sizes, shapes and sizes! My entire family shares my love for dogs and I love the opportunity to share my home and affection with many different dogs! I will care for any breed and any size, from the tiniest teacup Chihuahua to the most giant Mastiff, St. Bernard or Great Dane!

Meet the Crew
Your beloved pet will be settling in with us while you are away, so you should know us too! I am a stay-at-home mother. My husband works full time and likes his at-home time in the evenings and weekends. Our son is 6, homeschooled and loves dogs! He is likely to want to snuggle and give lots of hugs to your pup while they are here, so please let me know if this will pose a problem! We have Thor, a 7 year old English Mastiff who spends about 90% of his time sleeping on the couch and Loki, a 1 year old ferret! Thor is neutered and very friendly, Loki is also neutered and spends his days in his huge cage in our son's playroom. This room can be segregated from the rest of the house if the ferret triggers your dog's prey drive too strongly!

What I Would Like to Know
Please let me know ahead of time of any behavior issues including anxiety, aggression, potty training troubles or other training problems ahead of time so I can make appropriate arrangements for them. We do have a giant breed dog in the house, as well as a small child so I must ask that only dog and child friendly dogs be kept with us. Please be prepared to provide me with your pet's established routine (feeding times and amounts, potty breaks, etc) and any special equipment that they may need (crates, potty pads, muzzles, etc).

About My Home
We live in an old farmhouse on 5 acres of land. 3.5 Acres are open field, 1.5 acres of yard space, so there is lots of room to run and play! Since our yard is partially fenced, your pup will be on-leash for outside activities while they are at my home. Your dog will have run of the house during the day and will have a comfy couch in the pup-room or bed space for sleeping.
Read More about Kristen...
Contact Kristen
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling

Kristen C.

8 Reviews
$40/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 8 mins
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated March 27, 2017

Credentials

Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Kristen's Home
$40 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 1 walk/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Training
$35 /hour
8 Reviews
The family took great care of my Mastiff and sent multiple photos throughout the day. I highly recommend
Wonderful
We could not have had a better experience. Jasper was welcomed as part of the family. He was safe, well fed, meds used as prescribed, and most of all, loved. We are grateful for Kristen and her family who took such good care of Jasper. And we appreciated all of Kristen's communication with us including notes, photos and video. We will definitely use her again!
Read More...
Read All 8 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!