Opposable Thumbs Animal Care

View All
10
Photos

Jamie Leigh L.

$60/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

About Jamie Leigh

22 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hello,

Opposable Thumbs cares for all kinds of animals. We absolutely love and treasure them all! We have taken care of fish, rabbits, turtles, rats, hamsters, gerbils, guinea pigs, dogs, raccoons, opossums, pigeons & other birds, snakes, lizards, & more (I love, and have had & have cared for cats but am allergic sadly). I have studied canine and wolf behavior, and have worked closely with wolves.
I am also very involved with animal welfare. I have volunteered at The Oakland Zoo, and The SF Zoo where I worked both with animals generally associated with farms, as well as behavioral studies & enrichment for Sabrina, a black Leopard. Myself? As I child I had 2 dogs, 1 cat, 1 turtle, 3 birds, snakes, etc. As an adult I’ve had fish, had 4 dogs & 2 cats; but, they have all passed on to The Rainbow Bridge:(.
I now have my 1 terrier mix who is the JOY OF MY LIFE.He came from a hoarder with over 50 starving dogs on his property. Luckily we were able to rescue all but one. I got my pup fairly young @ 9 months; however, dogs that haven’t been socialized w/humans by 4 mos. are considered "feral", & can have different needs. I have worked very hard with my baby to help him feel safe, so he “acts out” less, feels loved, needed & appreciated.
With the needs of my own pups, I have lots of experience w/animals, who have anxiety, fear, &/or aggression issues. I give them lots of love & patience so they have the best, happiest, healthiest lives possible :)
Before the pup we have now, my last 4 dogs, and kitties had health issues right away or as they aged. I had to administer medications including eye, ear, oral, and injectable. I am an expert "bandager" LOL!
I love to play & walk animals. I am very good at sitting with, petting, & brushing, or just giving oodles of love to animals that are either not into running around, or those who are older, and/or ill and just want some company, love & attention.
I've made every food thinkable for my animals & the ones I have cared for through the years, and make homemade treats as well. I take direction well, have a great memory and am a very patient person. I have an excellent driving record, a Honda Element SUV that's designed with animals in mind. More importantly, I listen to what your needs, and your animals’ needs are, & go from there.
Please let me help you feel safe & secure when you have to leave your beloved animal family members at home. Believe me, I know how hard that can be! I'd be honored to meet you & your animals,& feel that I can provide them with patience, and love that they need in order to feel safe & happy during your absence.

***Please note that I do NOT host in my own home, as much as I wish I could***
Thank you for considering myself as well as Opposable Thumbs! ~ Jamie


Read More about Jamie Leigh...
Contact Jamie Leigh
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
CPR / First-Aid certified
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Jamie Leigh L.

$60/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated September 2, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$60 /night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Dog Walking
$22 /half-hour
$33 /hour
  • Willing to travel 6 miles
Home Visits
$22 /visit
  • Willing to travel 8 miles
Training
$35 /hour
Baths
$18 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$12 each way
  • Willing to travel 8 miles
More Services