Muttie Fun Retreat

View All
16
Photos

Melissa F.

3 Reviews
2 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 40 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Vaccinated
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

Melissa's Resident Pets

Other Pets & Animals: Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents

Melissa's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Melissa

15 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Giving dogs the love they deserve has been my life's mission, so know that I will treat your fur-baby as my own while you are away.

MY EXPERIENCE -

I have been an animal lover my whole life. Growing up on a family farm has given me the experience of nurturing a wide range of animals, such as chickens, pigs, dogs, cats, small rodents and aquarium life.

I have been an avid volunteer since childhood with my home town's local dog rescue organization, Scooters Pal's, helping my Nana foster abused and neglected dogs find new forever homes, walking dogs of all breeds and sizes. I have also worked adoption events and fundraisers and fallen in love with every dog that has come into my life.

MY PLACE -

My fiancé, Ryan, and I live in a spacious studio located in the Koreatown/Mid-Wilshire area.

We have lots of green grass surrounding our building to run and play.

We don't have any dogs or cats, so your pet will be the center of doggy attention in our home. (We will be moving this fall/winter to a bigger space, and until then I will not be able to watch dogs over 40 lbs. because I want your pet to have as much space possible to play and relax.)

Our pets consists of a caged rats and a turtle. Depending on how our Meet-n-Greet goes, we can put the rats in a separate room on a high surface: out of sight, out of mind.

VACAY ACTIVITIES -

While your pet is in my care, we will go on wonderful walks frequently, anywhere from 2-4 hours per day, depending on your pet's activity level.

If your pet is with us for more than 3 days, we will ask your permission to take them on hikes to keep them nice and occupied.

We love to play and snuggle and go outside. Your pet will be well loved in our care.

RATES & SERVICES -

The services I provide range from pet sitting, house sitting, dog walking, and pet check-ins to your home. I am able to watch over any kind of pet you have, and if you have any special requests please feel free to contact me and I can answer any questions or concerns you may have.

Depending on the service you request, we can come to agreement on a custom quote that works for both of us. Please don't hesitate to ask.

For dog sitting and walking, my rates are as listed.

IMPORTANT NOTES -

YOUR PET WILL NEVER BE LEFT UNATTENDED. When I say this, I mean at all times your pet will be under adult supervision, by either me or my fiancé.

Pick up/Drop off times: 7am-10pm. No exceptions. Please update me if you are running late, your safety is more important to me than your punctuality.

Dogs must be friendly to other animals and able to walk comfortably on a leash. Please inform me if you have a pet that can't be kept with other dogs and I will arrange for individual care.

Pets must be sent with plenty of food for their stay.

Leash, collar and identification tags must be provided. No exceptions.

Please include emergency contact information and vet location.

Please send a comfort item with your fur-baby so they can have a part of home with them.


THANK YOU for taking the time to read this! I look forward to hearing from you!

-Melissa Fairchilds
Read More about Melissa...
Contact Melissa
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Melissa F.

3 Reviews
2 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 40 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 4, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Home Checked
This Host has successfully passed our in-person verification visit and completed our 1-on-1 training program.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Melissa's Home
$35 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets will sleep in their own beds
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$45 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Daycare At Melissa's Home
$35 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 2 miles
Home Visits
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 2 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
More Services
3 Reviews
Home Checked
If it’s an animal lover you’re looking for, look no further. Growing up on a small family farm in Northern California, Melissa’s animal caretaking experience went beyond cats and dogs to include chickens, pigs, rabbits…and even a snake! Her role model was her Nana, who fostered abused and neglected dogs, and Melissa was always on hand to help walk and care for these cast-aside canines until they were eventually placed in their new forever homes. She also volunteered with the rescue organization, Scooter’s Pals, not only walking dogs of all sizes and ages but also soliciting donations and donating her time working at their thrift store.

Her current pets include five rats and a turtle (who can be moved into the other room if your pup finds them “too distracting”). Since she currently doesn’t have a dog of her own, you can be sure that she’ll shower yours with all of her love and affection.
Read More...
We'd gladly let Melissa watch Ruffy & George again. She stayed at our place, and took just as good care of our apartment as our animals. We got regular updates, and had good communication throughout our trip. She's very thoughtful and considerate, and we highly recommend her.
Read More...
Melissa gets an A+ from Mayweather and me!! Going on and on in a review will not do justice to her and her boyfriend Ryan's warm, ethusiastic spirit and kind care. Mayweather and I are all smiles and we both look forward to his next stay. They get FIVE STARS all the way!
Read More...
If you're looking for someone whom you can trust and feel safe leaving your precious dog for a couple of days, look no further. Melissa was kind enough to keep us updated on Penny's day through detailed messages and pictures over the weekend. She's definitely an animal lover and will love your puppy as if it was her own, even letting them on their bed as cuddle buddies.

Would absolutely recommend!
Read More...