Melissa's Doggy Days

View All
26
Photos

Melissa M.

8 Reviews
4 Repeat Guests
$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
No Puppies
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated

Melissa's Resident Pets

Hank
Poodle
Male
3 yr 11 mo old
Charlie
Mixed
Male
10 yr 11 mo old

Melissa's House

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Melissa

16 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi! My name's Melissa and after a car accident I was forced to completely change my career path. I am now working as an artist and children's book illustrator. That means I work from home all day, every day. I got my first dog when I was eleven years old. Together we went to multiple training classes, we did junior showmanship, and competed in obedience competitions. I also began doing in home dog sitting, and dog walking during high school, so I got an early start at this.

I now own a dog friendly house and have two dogs, Hank and Charlie, that love when they can have other friends over to stay and enjoy the dog room. That's right, they have their own bedroom filled with dog beds, a giant bean bag, toys, and water. The door to the room is always open and with a cushioned seat to watch out the window, your dog will enjoy spending their time there too. Then there is the fenced in yard. In the summer there's a small kiddie pool outside for cooling off, a shaded deck, and plenty of grass for running in.

As for me, I have an art studio in the upstairs of my house where I do my artwork. Half of the room has my studio, the other half has a large couch where dogs enjoy napping while I paint, and visiting me to get lots of scratches and belly rubs. Since I have lingering neck pain from the accident I have to take frequent breaks where I need to get up and move. That means after one to two hour of work your dog with be with us heading outside to play. We play fetch in the yard and enjoy the fresh air, before we head back inside and I get to work again, while they nap on the couch upstairs with me or enjoy the dog room. We repeat this all through the day! I also live in the Weber-Camden neighborhood, meaning I am within walking distance of Weber park and the Weber Parkway, for daily exercise and walks if that's what your dog would enjoy. There is also the St. Anthony parkway and dog park just over the Camden bridge that my dogs love.

I have experience with an albino cocker spaniel who was born deaf and is now mostly blind, but enjoys every stay with us. I have also had dogs with back problems, arthritis, that require multiple medications, diapers, or special trips up and down the steps on the deck. I am very experienced with separation anxiety (Charlie has it) and have become an expert at making the house anxiety proof and calming anxious dogs. Those dogs fit in fine with us here!

With my new career working from home Hank, Charlie, and I are so lucky to be able to help other dogs enjoy their days, like we get to. This is a welcoming, open place, and we would love to have your dog join us in all the fun.
Read More about Melissa...
Contact Melissa
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling
  • Advanced senior issues

Melissa M.

8 Reviews
4 Repeat Guests
$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 5, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Web Training Complete
This sitter has completed an online presentation meant to provide an overview of sitting responsibilities.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Melissa's Home
$30 /night
  • Watches up to 1 dog /night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Melissa's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
8 Reviews
Melissa helped us out so much! We were looking for someone to watch our dog Pete over the weekend and two days before we were supposed to leave the person who was going to watch him couldn't. I contacted Melissa on Thursday and she was so wonderful and accommodating with us and Pete! Pete had a great time playing at her house, and we loved seeing the pictures of him having fun!
Thank you so much Melissa!
Read More...
Melissa was wonderful! This was the fourth time my poodle, Chloe stayed with her. I had an immediate daycare need and Melissa came to the rescue. Her availability and flexibility are great and her pups, Hank and Charlie, are excellent playmates. Both are friendly and playful which my dog loved. Melissa sent lots of updates during the stats and you can tell she really loves dogs. Have the highest recommendation for the stays! Will continue to use her!
Read More...
Melissa was a GREAT puppy sitter--I got daily pictures, he had a huge yard to run in and friends to play with. My dog was happy as a clam and sad to leave. 10/10 would recommend. Thanks, Melissa!
Melissa was great and Harriet looks to have had a blast hanging out with Hank and Charlie. I'll definitely book again in the future.
Melissa did a fantastic job taking care of my dog for a long weekend. Hank and Charlie accepted him into their pack right away, and Melissa kept me updated with pictures throughout his time there. I would gladly hire again.
O'Malley had a great time at Melissa's! We'll be back. :)
Rayne had a fantastic time with Melissa and her dogs Charlie and Hank. From the many photos she sent, it looks like they played non-stop and the dogs had the run of the house. I would absolutely board Rayne with Melissa again.
Melissa was great with Cesar! Will definitely book again.
Read All 8 Reviews