Madison West, Fenced Yard, Flexible

View All
40
Photos

Nancy V.

113 Reviews
68 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 3 days
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

Nancy's Resident Pets

Baxter
Mixed Breed
Male
11 yr 1 mo old
Chomps
Yorkshire Terrier
Male
9 yr 1 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Caged birds or Reptiles

Nancy's House

View Neighborhood Map
Children at home (Under 5 years old)
Large Yard
100% fenced & locked
Pets allowed on furniture
Great for senior pets
Air-conditioned inside
Smoke-free home
Dog door access

About Nancy

12 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I am a calm and confident pack leader with a clean and spacious house. My two dogs are friendly with all size and age dogs and I have a stellar track record for boarding dogs as indicated by my many returning customers. I am trained in dog behavior, training and nutrition and practice holistic dog-care to ensure safe and anxiety-free care for your pet. Book early as I fill up quickly.

Our home is perfect for your pet.

- conveniently located off the 12/18 Beltline, less than five mile from the University of Wisconsin, Madison and Capitol area.
- no kennel/crates unless requested by owner during home alone time or bedtime.
- no "late" pick up fees. No charge for "late" pick ups as long as it is within 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. (drop offs and pick ups between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m. by special request only)
- no extra cost for human attention and love- your dog gets private snuggle time, belly rubs, ear scratches
- no exta cost for administration of medications and care for special needs dogs (blind, older dog, etc.)
- individual walks around the neighborhood plus unlimited, supervised access to backyard comes with all boarding.
- owners receive daily photos of dog via dogvacay account or phone text

What further sets our home apart from other homes is our huge, fully fenced grassy, private back-yard. Also, unlike many homes on dogvacay, I am home the majority of the time. I do not offer 24 hour a day supervision but my part-time job only takes me out of my home 3-4 times a week at 4-6 hours each time. There may also be evenings when I am out. Dogs best suited for my space are those who can stay alone up to 6-8 hours. When I am not home, all dogs are secured in their own comfortable space and not allowed to have contact with the other dogs. My home is set away from busy streets and located centrally off the beltline in Madison- less than five miles from University of Wisconsin Madison and the Capitol near Middle and Odana streets on near west side of Madison.


Our two resident dogs, an 18 lb Bichon-Yorkie- Baxter and 4 lb Yorkie- Chomps, are friendly with all size dogs and love to play and run around. All dogs get unlimited access to explore and play in our sizable yard. There are lots of squirrels to chase, bunny tracks to smell, and hens to watch (don't worry, my hens are securly fenced and may even try to come up and peck your dog's nose if your dog tries to intimidate them). During winter, we plow a nice trail so even little dogs get outside exercise when they stay over. During the warm months, dogs can get yummy veggie treats from our fenced garden. Baxter loves to share the green beans! Our grass is untreated so our yard is safe for all dogs. Please make sure your dog is treated for flea/ticks since they spend lots of time outdoors with me. Unlike kennels, dogs are welcome in all areas of our home just like they are at their own home. They can say "hi" to doggie neighbors by sitting by our sunny bay window or just lay on our cool hardwood floors. We have a long hallway to play and run inside. If peace and quiet is needed, we have an extra bedroom with full-sized bed for your dog to relax on. Or they can also cuddle with us on our couch and watch squirrels run up and down our front yard trees. At night, they are welcome to sleep in our bed or lay in their own bed. I am a small in-home service so I only dog sit 6-8 dogs maximum at one time including my own two dogs. This guarantees lots of personal attention for your pet and just enough dog buddies for play time. The small amount of dogs also limit the possibility of diseases like kennel cough. I do not discriminate against any breed and will consider all size dogs and breeds. Boarding rates are: first dog is $35 a night and any additional dogs are $25 a night. Daycare rates are $25 per day between hours of 6:30 a.m. - 6 p.m. Puppies age twelve months or younger are $40 a night and $40 per day for daycare. Drop offs and pick ups can be scheduled between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.- additional night charged if your pup stays or is picked up after 10 p.m.

I have knowledge of holistic pet nutrition, pet behavior and pet care. I practice training skills when appropriate like "sit" before getting to run outside to play and "no talk" when other dogs or human walk past the window. My priorities are dog comfort and safety so I follow strict slow introduction protocol.

I do require a copy of current vaccinations- rabies and DHPPLC. I will provide an email for your vet to email me the record if needed.

Please contact me with any questions.

Our home is welcoming and dog-friendly with lots of belly rubs, love and comfort. Go with someone who has experience and training and board your dog with us. Make sure your dog has someone home with them when you're away and that you have peace of mind when you are away. I am happy to provide personal references upon request. We would love to take care of your dog!
Read More about Nancy...
Contact Nancy
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety

Nancy V.

113 Reviews
68 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 3 days
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated March 15, 2017

Credentials

Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Nancy's Home
$35 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Nancy's Home
$25 /day
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/day
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$15 each way
  • Willing to travel 25 miles
113 Reviews
This was the longest trip we have left our dog and we were totally happy with his stay with Nancy. We got daily updates/pictures of Sebastian while we were gone and knew he was getting great care in a home setting. He was welcome on the couch and on the bed if he wanted to sleep there, had a wonderful fenced yard to play in, and was happy while wen were gone. We will definitely be using Nancy again the next we travel and Sebastian can't come with.
Read More...
Nancy was awesome. Very friendly and great place for Tia to run around with new friends. I would definitely use Nancy in the future.
Nancy is the best! I felt very comfortable leaving my dog with her and her adorable family, and loved seeing pics of all the snuggling that went on during his stay.
Read All 113 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!