Lots of Love & Play All Day!

View All
24
Photos

Amy T.

3 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated

Amy's Resident Pets

Link
Pomeranian
Male
11 yr 1 mo old
Hannah
Chihuahua
Female
8 yr 1 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Cats, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents

Amy's Townhome

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced & locked
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets

About Amy

17 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
My husband, Greg, and I provide pet care in our home for dogs up to 40 lbs. We can be your best option for a stress-free vacation: short or long-term care, even daycare socialization for puppies and dogs. Your pet will be cared for by mature adults at all times. Dogs can play and explore in our fenced-in backyard and garden, relax on the couch, and even sleep in the bed with us at night if you approve. Treat your dog to the best vacation in town! Lots of love and hugs and play all day! Light grooming (baths, brushing) is also part of the day. We are limited to 4 dogs at one time so contact as soon as you know you need us! I also offer pet care home visits within 10 miles of my home, and have experience caring for dogs of course, but also cats, small mammals, birds, snakes, horses etc.

I am 32 years old, and I have over 11 years of professional pet sitting experience as well as an additional 3 years of experience working at a veterinarian. I am a dependable, caring, and responsible pet sitter. My husband, Greg, and I love all types of animals, and we have been life-long pet owners. We have 2 dogs, an energetic 8-year-old spayed female Chihuahua named Hannah and an adventurous 10-year-old neutered male Pomeranian mix named Link. Both are well socialized and really love having friends over!

I will tell you a little about our relevant experience. I have been a professional pet sitter since 2005. At first I worked for myself. Then in March 2007 I began working for a socialized dog boarding facility in Baton Rouge. When I moved to Hammond, I saw the need for quality pet sitters in this area and decided to start my own business here. At this time we also typically spend one weekend a month in Baton Rouge so that the owners of that pet sitting business can have the chance to get away for short vacations.

We look forward to hearing from you! We would love to meet with you and your pets so that we can discuss your needs and make sure that Greg and I will be a good fit for you and your family. We will be happy to provide references for you.

I have experience caring for many types of animals including dogs, cats, horses, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, and small mammals such as rats and guinea pigs. Since March 2007 I have been working for a socialized pet boarding facility in Baton Rouge. When I lived in Baton Rouge and attended LSU, I worked during the days when the owner, Janine, needed to run errands. I also stayed overnight, sometimes for several days, when Janine and her husband needed someone to run the business and care for the animals while they were out of town. My husband, Greg, and I still help Janine and Ernie, the owners, when they go out of town by staying there and caring for the pets. Professionally, other than working for Janine, I have cared for small animals in my home and provided dog walking and home visits for dogs, cats, birds, small animals, fish, reptiles, amphibians, and horses.

Why I love dog sitting
I have been a dog lover my whole life. My father was a veterinarian, so I grew up around animals and always enjoyed interacting with animals. I grew up with pets in my family since I can remember. My parents are animal lovers, and they passed it on to their 5 children for sure.

My husband had his Chihuahua, Hannah, before we met, and he loves her like a child. She and my 8-year-old Pomeranian mix, Link, integrated so well together that it is positively amazing. Link is like my little boy, and Greg understands how I feel, which is lovely.. We do not have any children yet, and our pets are our family.

I also worked for a few vet offices in my 20's (I am 32 now). It was when I thought I wanted to be a vet and was majoring in veterinary medicine at LSU. I realized that despite my love of animals, I didn't want to be a vet because you have to do a lot of things that are not fun for the animal. I loved being that happy part of a pets day, where you play with them and feed them. Only relatively recently did I realize that it is pet sitting, not veterinarian services, that I really want to pursue.

About my yard
We have a fenced backyard with a 6 foot wooden fence. Our yard is medium-sized and flat with a lawn, paths, and gardens. Plenty of room to explore and play! Your dogs will love playing, walking, and lounging in our beautiful, dog-friendly backyard.

My experience administering medication
Yes, I am comfortable administering medications if necessary. I have experience administering oral as well as injected medications. I have experience with both. I worked at a vet while I was in my 20's and learned how to inject medication, and I have experience administering SubQ and IM injections.

When your dog stays in my home, they will be treated just like my own. We will walk in the backyard and around my street if you approve. In my home, we will play with your dogs throughout the day for exercise and fun! We also give lots of love and hugs all day!
Read More about Amy...
Contact Amy
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
CPR / First-Aid certified
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling

Amy T.

3 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 5, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Amy's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 4 dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Amy's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 4 dogs/day
Baths
$15 /bath
3 Reviews
I was very concerned about leaving my baby boy with anyone, because he has only stayed with family! Amy was an amazing sitter...She made sure we all were comfortable before I left, then made sure she updated me daily with pictures and messages! He even slept with her at night...Which is what he's used to. I think he even misses his new "Auntie Amy" now that we are back home! I would recommend Amy to everyone!
Read More...
Amy was awesome. She was very knowledgeable about dogs. She handled my two a mom and 5 month old pup like a pro. She even taught me a few things. I guess old dogs can learn new tricks. I didn't have to worry about my babies at all. It was like they were on vacation and were very much at home in her home. Doggy home away from my home. Thank you Amy.
Read More...
Amy was great.. it was the first time my dogs stayed with someone besides family and friends.. She sent pictures of them while I was away..