Liz's Doggy Boarding

View All
4
Photos

Liz M.

2 Testimonials
$50/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 40 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated

Liz's Resident Pets

Oggie
Mixed Breed
Male
4 yr 6 mo old

Liz's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map

About Liz

4 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi! My name is Liz, an absolute dog fanatic. I grew up with three dogs in my family and learned how to care for them at a young age. For five years throughout middle and high school, I dog-sat for a neighborhood pup each weekend of the winter season, which helped me develop responsibility and care for dogs other than my own. While in high school, I personally got two of my three dogs certified as trained therapy pets. For four years, we made monthly visits to a local nursing home so that the people we visited could enjoy the unconditional love our dogs had to offer. My experience certifying my dogs as therapy pets also gave me important experience in training my dogs. Also, while in college, I spent a year volunteering at a local shelter so I could give some much-needed TLC and walks to the variety of dogs there, in addition to getting my own much-needed fill of doggy time!

A month after I graduated from college, I became a primary dog owner to the most magnificent little dog in the world-- Oggie-- a Lhasa Apso, Pomeranian, Beagle mix (aka a black, furry little guy!) Growing up with dogs my whole life gave me so much joy, but having a dog of my own these last four years has really been the best possible thing to ever happen to me. My little guy brings me so much happiness and comfort, and I love nothing more than taking care of him and seeing him happy.

Oggie is the most gentle, non-aggressive, happy-go-lucky guy who gets along with almost any dog (and has had a lot of experience spending extensive amounts of time with other dogs, too). I am lucky to live right by the East River, which boasts a huge promenade, perfect for long walks by the water. I'm also not far from Carl Shurz Park and Central Park, which offer many opportunities for walks and playtime in the outdoors (and, of course, dog runs!) I'm also a fourth grade teacher at a school right around the corner from where I live, which gives me quick, easy access to pop home whenever I need to.

I am also lucky to live with my boyfriend, Dylan, an unbelievable caretaker to Oggie who matches my love of dogs and then some. We both have the philosophy that dogs are members of the family. To that extent, Oggie has full reign of the apartment (couches, bed, etc.) and loves to pretend he's people. :) Oggie would love a buddy to hang with around the apartment and we would love to have another friend, too! We absolutely love dogs and we love caring for them. Getting an opportunity to care of your pooch would be be so much fun, and a total privilege.
Read More about Liz...
Contact Liz
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Leash Pulling

Liz M.

2 Testimonials
$50/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 40 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 5, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Web Training Complete
This sitter has completed an online presentation meant to provide an overview of sitting responsibilities.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Liz's Home
$50 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Liz's Home
$35 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 2 miles
2 Testimonials
Dec 2016
I have seen the way Liz treats her dog, Oggie -- she is always so excited to give him a walk, and her face lights up when she talks about him. She has had Oggie for over 3 years and also grew up with 3 dogs, so has a lifetime of experience with pets and knows how to treat them with care. There is no better pet sitter than Liz!
Read More...
Oct 2016
Liz loves dogs and my dog (a sweet elderly lab) loves Liz! Liz is patient and gentle as he takes slow, somewhat stiff walks. Because he's an older dog, he sometimes needs extra help, and Liz treats him with kindness and love! She's great with his medicine and even manages to get him to play easy games. Can't recommend her highly enough!!!!
Read More...