Leah's 3rd Ward Pet Services

View All
9
Photos

Shannon G.

1 Testimonial
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 5 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Breeds Not Accepted
Pit Bull - Bull Terrier
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Fish, Reptiles

Shannon's House

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets

About Shannon

1 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I've always loved dogs, ever since I can remember I've lived with them.
I'm 19 and over my years I've read countless dog training and behavior books and watched countless shows and documentaries because I love learning about them so much.
When I was 8 I taught my family's Maltese-Toy Poodle mix how to sit, spin, stay, and lay down. He's going on 12 years old now and I recently taught him how to fetch and drop the ball without a food reward.
I love being with a good dog and I love training them, I believe I can train any dog.
I'm still learning how to adjust certain unwanted doggy behaviors since I'm preparing to finally get a dog of my own.
This is actually why I decided to start temporary jobs, I'm saving up to buy a Shiba Inu puppy :)
I'm going to be a full-time student at HCC soon and that's part of the reason I'm choosing to do this work over your average retail job, aside from the fact that I love working with animals.

I prefer working with 70lb and under dogs since I'm a small woman, but I don't mind working with bigger dogs as long as they're decently behaved and aren't heavy leash pullers, I would not want your dog to run away.

My house is perfect for dogs, the main living areas where the dogs will be kept are fully carpeted, so I'd like your doggy to be potty trained, this is also a new house.
If not potty trained I have one small tiled area in the living space where your dog may be kept under your permission, it's in front of everything so your dog won't be lonely.
I also have a nice decently-sized backyard, the fence is brand-new and over 7ft tall. However since our foundation has been raised there is some space underneath the fence where a dog who likes to escape could exploit it and dig under.
I don't have a doggy door leading to the backyard yet so I can go back there and supervise until the dog is done having fun outside.
If you like I can teach your dog tricks and reinforce learned tricks and good behaviors. I can use food rewards or non food rewards depending on what you prefer.
Food rewards typically provide faster results and it's easier to train them using this method, but your dog may not listen to you unless you have food in your hand.
Non-food rewards usually make learning take longer but the results are generally more honest, meaning they reinforce more people-pleasing behaviors and your dog is more likely to listen to you in other situations without food treats, and you don't have to worry about your dog getting fat haha.
When you're getting your dog to do tricks on your own be sure to reward them only when they do exactly what you ask for, meaning no rewarding half-sits.

If you want your dog to be walked for longer than just potty breaks I don't mind doing that too, just as long as they can't slip out of their collars and harnesses or are so big and strong that they can pull me away with them when they see one of many stray cats. I can't stress this enough I don't want your dog to be hit by all the traffic around here.
There are many parks nearby that I can take your dog to too.
I can assure your dog will be happy with my services and I won't let them experience the separation anxiety they may get from being away from you. :)
I'm okay with pet sitting at your place or just checking up on and walking and watering your dog.

In other aspects I'm pretty experienced with freshwater fish, I used to own a 50 gallon freshwater tank with many fish in it, and my mom has owned fish for all the time that I've lived with her.
I also love reptiles and amphibians and insects, and I'm pretty experienced with all of them too :) so while checking on your doggy I can help out with any other little creatures you may also have.
I don't mind pet sitting cats and kittens and I'm experienced with their behavior too, though I'm slightly allergic so I ask that pet sitting takes place at your location and that their shed hair is minimized.

I hope that you choose me to watch over your companions! Please provide as much info as you can about how you want your animal taken care of in the form of email or paper.

Thanks for reading! :)
Read More about Shannon...
Contact Shannon
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Not yet house-trained

Shannon G.

1 Testimonial
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 5 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated December 7, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Shannon's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$30 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • Willing to travel 7 miles
Daycare At Shannon's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$12 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 1 mile
Home Visits
$17 /visit
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Training
$25 /hour
Baths
$10 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$7 each way
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
More Services
1 Testimonial
Nov 2016
Hello. Leah (Shannon) cares well for pets, even if the owner does not know how to care for the pet. She follows special care instructions for ill, old, and young animals. She is able to train dogs basic, good behavior skills. And, when having to leave a pet alone in a home, she will leave a radio or music playing on low to help keep the pet calm and happy.
Read More...