Karen’s Doggie Sanctuary.

View All
31
Photos

karen h.

1 Review
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 6 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

karen's Resident Pets

Panda
Shetland Sheepdog
Female
3 yr 5 mo old
arbie
Shetland Sheepdog
Female
4 yr 5 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Cats

karen's House

View Neighborhood Map
Large Yard
100% fenced & locked
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Smoke-free home

About karen

10 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I’m a 54 year old retiree who has been a responsible pet owner since I was 14 years old. I’m very energetic and love the outdoors. Since I was young I’ve been passionate about nature, animals and all gods’ creatures. Now that I’m older nothing has changed. My goal is to give your pet a safe and happy stay. While your on vacation so is your dog. You can enjoy your holiday's guilt free knowing your pet is being pampered and having a great time.
We have a large pet friendly yard with lots of trees with plenty of running space close to an acre in size. The yard is completely fenced with two gates, one on my side and the other gate on the attached duplex side. Both gates lock securely. I share my yard with my neighbor's dog, Panda who is Andrews’s dog (my neighbor) and she resides in the duplex next to my home. The backyard is Panda’s playground and she loves sharing it with other dogs. She’s very good with other dogs, very socialized. She sometimes acts like a mom to visiting dogs, she'll show them where to play and when someone enters the backyard she'll act like she's protecting them. There have been days when the backyard will have several dogs running freely and playing together. It just warms the heart to see them playing so happily. The people living next door are extremely good with dogs. I bring my other neighbors dog over and her and Panda play fetch with me.
i have experience with various dogs. I have owned a Samoyed and a mix Collie/German Sheppard both very different dogs with unique personalities and I loved them both equally. I’ve looked after a Stafford terrier for 8 weeks while the owner searched for new accommodations for himself and his dog. This dog was not kid friendly and it was a challenge at first since I had a 9 year old son living with me at the time. It took half a day for the dog to feel at home. It took a few days for the dog and I to come to an understanding regarding my son’s place in the home and vice versa for my son. I’m happy to say there were no incidents. I gave the dog what he needed a good run twice a day. He loved those runs so much and so did I. It awed my heart to watch this dog run as fast as he could with his tongue flapping at the side of his face. He would race to the creek then turn around and race back to me. I had a nice secluded spot close to home where I would take him for a 2 hour run until we got there he was kept on a leash and at a distance from any children.
I could go on and on about my experiences with dogs and I could start a novel. The thing is I love walking dogs. Any of my friends that have dogs can vouch that when I come to visit I always insist on taking their dog for a walk. I have never trained other people’s dogs. I usual adapt myself and the walk to the dog’s behavior.
I have two enclosed decks, the upper deck I use for a feeding area. In the summer it makes a cool sleeping area due to being shaded most of the day. I prefer the upper deck over the lower due to being able to access my kitchen while having my fuzzy friends close to me. In the winter we have the fireplace which provides a very cozy warm place to retreat to for me and my fuzzy friends.
I get up around 8am sometimes 9am sit and have my coffee. Then the cats wake up and I feed them and let them outside. Sometimes Arbie (our neighbor’s dog) is waiting by the fence with her tail wagging so I put my showering off to the side and go and play fetch with her for half an hour.
After showering, I usually spend my daytime outdoors occupying my time with projects and the cats (for now) unless I’m volunteering then I reserve any outdoor activities to the evenings. This includes playing fetch with Arbie.
We have one rescue cat (Charlotte) and a neighbor’s cat that has seeked refuge at our house. Right now we have no dogs so the cats are free to roam our house however they seem to be content with my room. I have reserved my room for them so they can feel safe and eat in peace also my room has a sliding door leading to a balcony where the cats have access to outside without running into any dogs (when we have dogs in the house). Both cats are exposed to dogs and have lived with dogs. They just prefer to avoid dogs. I have a spare room that is available for any dogs staying with us. I want your dogs stay to be a happy one and I will do all I can to make sure I deliver this to your pet. All animals that come into my home are treated with respect and compassion. My home is a safe place and keeping your pet safe from harm is my number one commitment then lots of love and fun. I understand every dog or cat has different needs and phobia and I will implement this into their stay. My place has always been a safe haven for animals and this is what I want to provide for your pet when they stay with me. When you’re on vacation a want your pet to feel they too are on vacation. I also believe that Communication with the pet owners is essential in understanding and in providing a positive stay for dogs. I have a questionnaire that I require dog owners to fill out asking such questions as what are their routines, likes, dislikes, fears, bathroom routines, how often do they go for walks and are they good with being on a leash. For those dogs that have limited walking ability, I have strollers. After all they shouldn’t be deprived of the outdoors and the scenery. I don’t believe in shared bedding.
Read More about karen...
Contact karen
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Separation anxiety
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Leash Pulling
  • Advanced senior issues

karen h.

1 Review
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 6 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated March 23, 2017

Credentials

Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At karen's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At karen's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Check-ins
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 6 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
More Services
3 Testimonials
Oct 2016
karen has an amazing ability to relate to animals. she knows when there in distress and it usual takes her very little time to understand most animals (what makes them happy, there phobias) and she will go to extreme measures to accommodate them so they are happy and feel safe I've yet to see an animal that doesn't like karen. Since I’ve known here (15 years) she has always been an energetic person who loves the outdoors, nature and swimming. One of her favorite past times is walking dogs. Whenever she would go to visit friends she would always have there pets on a leash and taking them for a walk it's funny where ever karen has lived animals in distress will find her. It’s like the animals communicate with each other and spread the word go to Karen you’ll be safe with her and she will help you. dogs have shown up out of know where at her door step, lost. Karen has such patients and compassion for animals she would spend the evening helping the dogs find there way back home. Her neighbors dog will wait by her fence for her to come home so they can play fetch together. This dog is so elated when she sees Karen her tail wagging at a fast rate and when Karen approaches her she must give her at least 50 kisses. It’s a treat to watch them both they both share the same look of joy and excitement to see each other.
she has watched my pets in the past and she did a fantastic job. she's very responsible; my cat was very well taken care of. she didn't rest until my cat looked happy and at home. I could go on and on, the bottom line is I couldn't think of a better person to leave my pet with.
Read More...
Oct 2016
Karen is very loving towards animals and always finds the time to make each one happy. She plays ball with the neighbours dog almost every day and takes her for walks. She puts food out for the neighbourhood cats and gives them a warm place to stay at night if they look cold or scared. She understands that every dog is different and has patience and understanding for every different personality type. She has a special connection with dogs, making them feel safe and important. She is very reliable and that worthy, and puts pets first.
Read More...
Oct 2016
Karen has a pure love for animals and takes time every single day to play with my dog! She lives next door to me and my dog loves her! I believe she would make a fabulous dog walker/sitter.
1 Review
Karen is very nice and experienced. Fay had very good time with her and her family! Thanks for taking good care of Fay!
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!