Julia's Westdale Wag & Woof Inn

View All
11
Photos

Julia B.

3 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 20 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents, Caged birds, Reptiles

Julia's House

View Neighborhood Map
Small Yard
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Julia

13 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hello! My name is Julia, and I'm a 20 year old BSc. Nursing student at McMaster University. I love dogs beyond words, and have owned & cared for my own pets for over 13 years!

Back in my hometown of Uxbridge, Ontario, I am the proud owner of a 13-year-old Cockapoo named Suzy. Caring for Suzy for so long has provided me with lots of experience, including puppy care, post-operative pet care, emergency vet visits, medication administration, and senior dog care (Suzy, at this point, is incontinent and has a touch of dementia). I also have experience caring for my father's 3-year-old Bouvier des Flandres named Chelsey, as well as several other people's dogs. Thus, I am able to care for any dog of any age, large or small!

I currently live in a secure, dog-friendly student home in Westdale Village, a quiet neighbourhood situated around McMaster University. I do not have any pets in this home, making it the perfect hotel for dogs that are not comfortable sharing spaces with other pets. I live with three other girls (all 19+) that also own/love dogs and will be available to look after your pet while I attend my classes. That being said, my class schedule is quite light - your pet would be left unattended in my home for a maximum of only 2-4 hours on any given day.

I live approximately 10 minutes (on foot) from the Cootes Paradise Conservation Area, a large and beautiful forest that features an extensive network of dog-friendly trails. I also live close to Churchill Park, which consists of several open fields that are perfect to run around and play fetch in. Cootes Paradise and Churchill Park are where I would take your furry friend for as many as 3 walks per day (a morning, mid-day, and evening walk).

I love to walk dogs at a pace ranging anywhere from a leisurely stroll to an active hike/run. I enjoy going on adventures and letting them have fun - I don't mind cleaning them up when they get a little wet and muddy! My walks are generally about 30 minutes each, but I don't mind lessening or extending that time depending on what the dog feels like doing that day. I am comfortable walking both big and small dogs, and I don't mind walking them solo or in small groups. Finally, I have my own car and am more than willing to drive your pup to and from their favourite walking spot. :)

While staying in my home, your pup will have the run of the place! I have no problem with your dog being on my furniture or exploring all the rooms in my house. However, if you would like your dog to remain in a secure area while being left unattended, it is possible for me to keep it in my living room (it has a door that closes tightly & a hardwood floor that is easy to clean).

I also want to mention that I am extremely affectionate and will give your dog LOTS of snuggles, pats, and hugs.

Finally, it is important to note that I have my own vehicle and, if need be, will be able to drive your pet to and from the nearest vet/animal hospital at a moment's notice.

Please contact me if you have any questions at all! I can't wait to meet you & your lovely dog(s).
Read More about Julia...
Contact Julia
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling
  • Advanced senior issues

Julia B.

3 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 20 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 25, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Julia's Home
$30 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$35 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Daycare At Julia's Home
$15 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$10 /half-hour
$20 /hour
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Home Visits
$15 /visit
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
More Services
2 Testimonials
Nov 2016
Julia is one of the most caring individuals, and I'm lucky enough to call myself her brother. When we were kids, we got a cockapoo named Suzy. Ever since then, Julia has been great at caring for her (especially in her current old age) and making sure she has everything she needs and is comfortable and happy. And who wouldn't want that for their dog while they're away?
Read More...
Nov 2016
Hi-- my name is Laurie and I am Julia's mom, so I have first hand knowledge about why Julia would be a great pet sitter. We got a little puppy in 2003 and she was 6 weeks old. Julia loved this little dog, walked her daily, bathed her, and even dressed her up sometimes for fun! Even when Julia was in high school with an active academic, athletic and social life, Julia always made time to care for Suzy and walk her.

Now Suzy is almost 14 years old, she is almost completely deaf, and she is having problems with bladder control. Any time Julia is home from school, Suzy sleeps in Julia's bed. She has to wear a diaper at night, and sometimes still needs to be let outside in the middle of the night, but Julia does that with patience and kindness. Any time Julia is home from school, she makes it a priority to make sure that Suzy has at least one long, interesting walk every day.

Julia is a responsible, caring young woman who loves all things living -- right down to plants!! If she takes on the responsibility of caring for a pet, she will never let the pet or it's owner down.
Read More...
3 Reviews
Julie was great! Sent a lot of photos of our two little guys while we were away. They looked like they had a great time - including some nice walks in the forest where they loved exploring! We would definitely recommend her and not hesitate to let them stay with her again. Thanks for a great first DogVacay experience!
Read More...
Julia is friendly, trustworthy, and was very flexible in terms of pick up and drop off arrangements
Julia made my weekend away stress free. Drop off and pick up was so easy. I got pictures and updates every day to know that my dog was doing well. Grey was so sleepy when he got home! I'll be using Julia as my go-to sitter in the future.