Jessica in Orange City

View All
6
Photos

Jessica G.

$20/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Cats, Fish, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents

About Jessica

10 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Here is where I will be honest and up front with everything that I can be.
-- I am a 25 year old autistic adult who has lived around dogs my entire life. I have never 'officially' dog sitted (sat?) for anyone, but I have helped friends out throughout the years with their dogs.
Being autistic is something important to me, which is why I bring it up. It would not affect my ability to care for an animal, in fact it has been the source of my love for animals since I was very young. I don't just love animals, I research everything I can about them. I understand and 'get along' with animals much more than I do people.
I have been researching dog training and specifically service dog training for at least 5 years now, and though I'm in no position to bring another dog into our household permanently I have learned a lot of training tips and fixes for common issues.

However, I can not drive on my own. I have a partner and I live with him and my mother, who can both drive me where I need to go as long as I have some sort of warning ahead of time so we can check work schedules to avoid time conflicts.

-- I can walk small distances multiple times per day if needed. About a mile or so is about how far I can walk at once.

-- I can help unofficially train some things with dogs, or suggest what you may need to help fix some bad behavior. I'm familiar with things like leash pulling, house training, separation anxiety, and other bad manners in dogs. I do not have any official titles or anything, as I stated above service dog training has been my love for years and I'm heavily considering training my own service dog in a few years.
-- However, I am a positive reinforcement user when it comes to training techniques. There are times where I understand negative reinforcement or negative punishment may be useful, but I do not use those techniques myself.

-- I do not use head collars on dogs because they are proven to be painful and a cover-up for the real issue at hand when it comes to walking. I also will not use a choke chain, however I have no issues with a proper fitting martingale or prong collar.

-- I live with two dogs, both small dogs. One is a Pug/Poodle mix and the other is a Chinese Crested "powder puff". I'm capable of basic grooming needs and I actually love to brush out dogs, no matter the thickness of the fur. If you've got a dog who needs their undercoat brushed out, I'd be more than happy to do so.
Read More about Jessica...
Contact Jessica
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained

Jessica G.

$20/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 15, 2016
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$20 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$30 /hour
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Home Visits
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 20 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
More Services