Happy Homeschool Fam & Photos

View All
25
Photos

Melissa R.

101 Reviews
55 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 1.9 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
No Male Dogs
Must Be Vaccinated

Melissa's Resident Pets

Other Pets & Animals: Cats

Melissa's House

View Neighborhood Map
Children at home (5-12 years old)
Medium Yard
100% fenced
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Smoke-free home

About Melissa

12 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
We are no longer accepting new dogs! We have a few meet'n'greets coming up and then we are making sure our schedule is open enough during the busy summer to accommodate our existing repeat guests. I will update our profile when we start accepting new dogs!

Just 10 min from I-91 & 15 min from the MA Pike. A family with lots of time, attention, & love for our guests! Homeschooling means that our guests have plenty of company & care - day & night.

After such a mild winter, please make sure your dogs are up to date on flea/tick treatments when they come to spend time with us.

Check our our unique reviews & repeat guests! We feel lucky to have had the honor of representing DogVacay in an interview with ABC40 news last summer, and to have been a "Host of the Day" in June 2015.

Right now we are only accepting smaller dogs (under 20lbs). If your larger dog has been a guest here before, we are happy to have gotten to know you and will accommodate your family any time!

We officially became DogVacay hosts in May 2014, and we have cared for 100+ dogs since we started.

When we started out, I figured we'd keep going as long as we were enjoying it and doing a good job of it. After a year and a half, I still get excited about every dog that walks through our door and I'm proud of how well we are able to care for each one of them. I also feel lucky to be able to get to know the wonderful owners of all these sweet dogs.

I have completed a Pet CPR/First Aid course & am certified.

My husband and I are especially patient/gentle people - with 3 kids plus pets, this has been tested & proven frequently, so I can claim that with confidence. We are happy to send frequent photos and updates, and answer any questions you may have - now, or during your dog's stay.

My husband, Danny, is a Civil Engineer who comes home from work ready to play with the kids, and who helps me orchestrate our adventures on the weekends.

All 3 of our boys are extremely gentle & respectful when it comes to animals. They have learned a lot about dogs since we started caring for them, and they are very helpful in terms of extra eyes and ears.

Our house is very pet-friendly & relaxed, and we really enjoy getting the chance to babysit our friends' dogs. I grew up with dogs & love having them around.

I love to take pictures and would be happy to have your dog as a subject. The photos here are good examples of how I like to play with my camera. While your pup is here, I will do my best to get at least one really great portrait-y photo mixed in with all the cell phone pics I take/send.

Our house has been baby-proofed quite a bit over the past 12 years. Because of that, it is very easy for us to make sure our house is "dog-proofed" & set up for a stress-free stay when we have visitors. We still have baby gates and fences, so we can strategically use different parts of the house depending on the needs of our dog visitors and our kids, like when the Legos get pulled out, when we're caring for multiple dogs who need their own space, etc. If a piece of our furniture is looking like a tasty chew toy, no worries, we have lots of ways of blocking things off and covering them up. If there are indoor accident concerns, our floors are all hardwood & tile so we don't worry about that too much! Also, in terms of our cats, it is very easy for us to have them out of sight & out of mind if we need to.

We have a small yard, but it is very pet-friendly, with a naturally cared-for lawn (no chemicals), and it is entirely fenced in. There is room for kids and dogs to play while I either follow them around with my camera or sit back and keep watch. We are close to a huge park, so if your dog likes going for walks, we have a really nice space for that.

During the nicer weather, our family is likely to leave the house daily, but never for too long. We know that every dog has different needs, and we will only leave a dog at home if we know that it is a safe & comfortable thing to do. I text owners about our comings and goings so that they have a clear picture of how their dog's stay is going!

During the week, we are flexible with dropoff/pickup times. On the weekends, because of the number of dogs that are potentially coming and going, we prefer dropoffs/pickups to be before noon or after 5pm. When you make a reservation with us, please let us know what you are aiming for in terms of dropoff and pickup times. I know sometimes plans are not firm yet, but even an estimate (early morning, afternoon, late evening, etc.) is appreciated!

We are still waiting for the right time to adopt our own dog to love, but we would be honored to be considered to care for your dog while you are away!

**5 essentials to bring for a stay with us**
- a leash. Even if we don't go for walks, we will want a leash for "just in case" purposes.
- enough food (and meds, if needed) for the stay.
- general care info (feeding times/amounts, med info, etc.). If you have something typed up or written out for me, that is helpful, but I will take notes during the dropoff to get that info otherwise.
- something that smells like home, whether it's a blanket, a t-shirt, or a dog bed.
- some sort of verification from your vet that your dog is healthy and up to date on the important stuff! You can bring a print out or even email me an attachment. If the visit is last-minute, I am also happy to at least have your vet's name & number. Please also make sure your dog is up to date on flea and tick treatments for their stay!

**a few more things that are welcome but not essential**
- coat/sweater. I do have extras in a few sizes if your dog needs one.
- treats. I like to be able to spoil them when I can.
- brush. If your dog enjoys being brushed, I like to be able to do that!
- bowls/dishes. I have extras here if you don't bring them.
- crate. If your dog is used to a crate and sees it as a comfy/safe/calming place, it is a nice tool to have just in case.
- toys. Toys will only be taken out to play with when dogs are in their separate spaces (like they are during feeding times) to prevent any possessiveness or stress surrounding sharing.


Read More about Melissa...
Contact Melissa
Can administer oral medicine
CPR / First-Aid certified
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Advanced senior issues
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling

Melissa R.

101 Reviews
55 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 1.9 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated March 23, 2017

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Disaster Relief
This sitter has completed training for the DogVacay Disaster Relief Program and volunteered to help displaced pets in the event of a natural disaster.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
References Checked
Our team reaches out to each of our host's references to provide an extra level of confidence and verification.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Melissa's Home
$35 /night
  • Watches up to 5+ dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Melissa's Home
$25 /day
  • Watches up to 4 dogs/day
101 Reviews
Ginnie LOVES staying with Melissa. So gets so excited when we drive up to Melissa's house. So comes home happy and tired out from all the activity she has.
I was a little nervous leaving my new puppy for the first time, but I didn't need to be. She was in such good hands with Melissa! Sandy was well taken care of and she had a doggy buddy to play with! I look forward to bringing her back for a playdate again soon! Btw, Sandy is sleeping like a log now :)
Read More...
Marley had a great stay with Melissa! We were provided with many awesome photo updates throughout Marley's vacation. Marley usually returns from the kennel in a sad mood for a day, but after staying with Melissa my pup came home happy and cheerful!

Thank you again!
Read More...
Read All 101 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!