Golden Acres Retreat!-Hillsboro OR

View All
7
Photos

Ruth S.

6 Reviews
4 Repeat Guests
$40/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 15 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
List of Pets OK for House Sitting
Dogs, Rabbits, gerbils, hamsters, or pet rodents

Ruth 's House

View Neighborhood Map
Outdoor area
Smoke-free home
Air-conditioned inside

About Ruth

12 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Quiet secluded city house on over four acres is the perfect place for your dog's stay. Our family friendly home is ready to accommodate all of your dog's needs, and make your dog feel like part of the family. No other pets are in our home at this time, so your dog will receive undivided attention from our family. We have watched numerous dogs over the years, and would really enjoy having your dog be part of our family for a while. Walks will be given daily, and your dog will enjoy roaming in our large yard surrounded by trees. We look forward to having your dog stay with us!

About this sitter:
I am a highly motivated energetic individual that loves spending time making the world a better place. I'm active, and enjoy spending lots of time with dogs, and people. Some of my favorite hobbies include, playing music on the harp and piano, writing, cooking, and spending time with friends. I hope I may be able to bring some encouragement to you and your dog during its stay with me.

Why I love dog sitting:
We had a faithful family dog for about 13 years that died a little over 7 years ago. She was a border collie mix who was a special part of our family, and gave us all a lot of love and attention. She traveled with us, and gave us all a lot of joy, and happiness. We all miss her greatly, and love any time we can get with our friend's dogs. I wanted to get another dog for our family, but it wasn't possible because we travel too much. But with DogVacay, I'm able to enjoy having dogs around all the time, and still travel when I ned to. It's the perfect combination for me:)I love being able to help out pet owners when they are away, by creating a comfortable environment for their dogs to relax, and enjoy their time. It's fun to feel like I am making a difference for others.

Meet my pets:
We have no pets at this time, so your dog will receive undivided attention:)

About my yard:
We have over 4 acres of unfenced property in the middle of the city. We are surrounded by trees, and have plenty of room for your dog to roam on the leash.

My experience administering medication:
Yes! We used to give our dog medication, and I'm familiar with injection, and pill forms of medication.


Please come to the meet and greet prepared to tell me answers to these questions. Also, If you could update your care instructions with any specific details (on DogVacay for your dog) that would be wonderful.

Here's a list of questions I usually ask at our meet and greets:)

What types of care will be needed for your dog? How much feed will be needed? What you will provide....(food, dog house, leash, etc)? What your Dog's temperament is like, and what it likes from you? Where your dog sleeps? What your dog prefers to do during the day? Can it ride in the car? Is it ok off leash? Is it good with other dogs?

Walks:
I'll take your dog on a nice walk around our neighborhood. My walk is usually 30-60 minutes every day around our quiet peaceful neighborhood. It's approximately 1-3 miles, but can be shortened or lengthened as needed for your dog:)The entire route is side-walked, and your dog would be kept on the leash at all times.

Your dog's sleeping arrangement:
I usually let the dogs sleep in my bedroom on their own dog bed, but sometimes they sleep in our living room as well, or however your dog is used to sleeping should be great. But I don't allow dogs to sleep with me:) Sorry!

Time I'll spend with your dog:
We live and work at home 24/7 so someone will always be here with your dog. I usually let the dogs out every hour or so, and make sure to spend plenty of time playing, and walking your dog as well:)

Rates: My rate is $40 a night or a day. The price is calculated based on 24 hours, not a night. So when you book a stay for one night and 2 days, you will be charged for 2 days. I hope that makes sense:)
Read More about Ruth ...
Contact Ruth
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling
  • Advanced senior issues

Ruth S.

6 Reviews
4 Repeat Guests
$40/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 15 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 30, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Ruth 's Home
$40 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for no more than 1 hour/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets will sleep in their own beds
House Sitting Overnight At Your Home
$40 /night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for more than 4 hours/day
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Daycare At Ruth 's Home
$35 /day
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$30 /hour
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
Home Visits
$25 /visit
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$20 each way
  • Willing to travel 15 miles
More Services
6 Reviews
We were very happy that we found someone we could trust with our dog. Ruth is very friendly and the way she interacted with our dog was great. She is quick to respond and give updates. We definitely will book with her in the future.
My dog always looks happy and relaxed in the photos Ruth keeps me updated with and I have a difficult dog.
Ruth was great! My dog (Murphy) was extremely happy during his stay, she sent me pictures of him, and he was very happy when I picked him up. I will absolutely be going to Ruth the next time we need a dog sitter!
Ruth was awesome, from start to finish. She met with our dog and us and our dog immediately took to her calm, personable attitude. She worked with his schedule and our preferences, and reported in every day to tell us how our pets were doing (she even checked our mostly aloof kitty. Thank you so much Ruth!
Read More...
Ruth was very easy to get to know and she took the extra time to make sure my dog would fit in with her home. This attention to detail made it all the better during the stay. After the meet and great the reservation process went very fast. Rosco enjoyed his time with Ruth and it was his first time away on a vacation so I was worried he would have a tough time but Ruth and Rosco bonded well and he enjoyed his time.
Read More...
We used RuthS' day sitting care for 10 working days. Her location is within 10 minutes drive of Intel/FEI, so was extremely convenient for drop off and pick up! Aja contracted a contagious canine virus so had to be in a home without resident dogs. It warmed my heart to see Aja playing fetch on RuthS' huge lawn. We've had such great weather, Aja has also been able to hang out on the back deck and watch the birds. RuthS was the perfect host and I'm extremely happy with the care Aja received.
Read More...
Read All 6 Reviews