Fur-Mom Available For You!

View All
53
Photos

Nia R.

5 Reviews
2 Repeat Guests
$45/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 10 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

Nia's Resident Pets

Cleopatra
Yorkshire Terrier
Female
1 yr 6 mo old
Cloudz
Maltese
Male
4 yr 0 mo old

Nia's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Children at home (Under 5 years old, 5-12 years old)
Outdoor area
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Nia

12 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
**Please read to bottom as there are questions that need to be answered when messaging me.**

REQUEST MEET AND GREET BEFORE A BOOKING. THANKS :)

No pickups of drop offs on the weekends! Please book a day before or a day after! Thanks :)

Hi there my furry friends! Welcome to your home away from home. I have a 7 year old Yorkie named Cleo who will be your best friend. I've been around animals my entire life. From volunteering at animal shelters to training my friends dogs. I live in the basement apartment of my sisters large home. You'll be able to roam the whole house, if you'd like. But Cleo and I will be the ones with you primarily. I live in suburban long island. (Hicksville) I like to play in the side yard throughout the day but we'll be doing 3 walks a day as well. I've been a vegan for the past 13 years and I'm an active animal equality activist and severe lover. Food, fitness and animals are my world! I've had dogs my entire life and have trained them myself. You're welcome to come anytime and stay as long as you want! I offer daycare (from anytime up until 11pm) Don't worry, I don't discriminate against your age, breed or size. (But you MUST be house trained and you MUST get along with all other dogs!) You're perfect the way you are. I'm not strict about canceling or last minute bookings. It's no big deal! I can do daycare, overnight and even baths if you need one. I love to stay active and promote a healthy lifestyle which includes love for all creatures of earth! Feel free to message me with any questions you may have.

How long have I been dog sitting?
My entire life! I became vegan at the age of 6 and have been an active animal activist ever since. I've volunteered at animal shelters and even trained my friends dogs. I've never had a time in my life where I didn't have a dog in my home. My father was this way as well. He used to be a breeder and trainer so he taught me everything I know. At one point we had 32 pets in (or out of) the home (all different species), including an alligator!

About my yard:
My backyard is currently under renovation. I do have a side yard that I like to sit out and enjoy the sun on a few times a day. I live in suburban Long Island and I will be walking them around the neighborhood three times a day!

Can I administer medication?
Yes! If you need to take a pill everyday, put on special creams, have special food prepared for you, whatever it is, I can do it.

Here's where we'll take our walks
Three times a day around the neighborhood for 30-minutes to an hour depending on the weather. I also have an open side grass area that I like to sit on throughout my day so playtime will be there and then of course dog parks if you're stay is long enough.
Depending on the size of your dog, and their temperament, I may bring them to work with me.

Your dog's sleeping arrangement
Anywhere he/she likes around the house! Mostly in my bed with me or the couch for naps so they're comfortable. Unless you'd like to bring your own bed then that's okay too!

Time I'll spend with your dog
Almost all day!

When messaging me:
Describe your child! Tell me all about them and what they like, they're special habits or otherwise, temperaments, personality, etc! I want to know as much as I can.
Also please make sure to answer these all when messaging me so I can be as thorough and quick to answer you as possible! Thanks so much! :)

*Does your child get along with all other breeds, quantities, sizes and genders of dogs?
(I have two of my own and of course have more on occasion. I also like to take them to dog parks for fun days.)
*Is he/she flea free? Is he/she on any flea preventative?
Is he/she on any medications and/or any special medical history?
Does he/she have any physical limits?
How many times a day does he/she eat and go outside?
Does he/she normally have a yard, go for walks or both?
*Is he/she house trained?
Does he/she get nervous or anxious when he/she's away from you?
Also, how many times has he/she been apart from you and for how long?
What are some fun activities he/she likes to do?
**Does he/she like to chew or tear things up when you're not home or otherwise? If so, do you crate or gate him/her when you're not home?
Please, I BEG YOU, do not lie to me! I promise there is no reason to! Spread love only xo

That's all I've got! Sorry it's so lengthy, just covering all bases based on past experiences. Want to make sure I provide the best stay for your fur baby!

What To Bring:
- Food and Water Bowls
- Whatever food you feed him/her
- *SCOOPERS* : I run a vegan household. I do not mind feeding your child whatever it is you feed them. Not one bit! However, I require scooping utensils to be included. Especially if you feed them any kind of wet food or other meat products! Thank you!
- Medications if necessary
- Any special snacks or treats
- Some toys if any
- Maybe a special blanket or bed he/she likes if any (To give him/her a sense of home)
(Also a sweater or piece of clothing of yours works for that as well if you'd like.)

NOTE: I do not usually accept dogs that are not house trained/trained not to chew or tear anything up. However, if I'm told that he/she IS trained, and it is apparent that they are NOT: If your child chews or tears through anything, I MUST be reimbursed for such item. Thank you for understanding!

Read More about Nia...
Contact Nia
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling

Nia R.

5 Reviews
2 Repeat Guests
$45/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 10 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 30, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Phone Interviewed
Serious hosts take the time to talk to us over the phone, get their questions asked and introduce themselves personally.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Nia's Home
$45 /night
  • Watches up to 5 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep on my bed
Daycare At Nia's Home
$30 /day
  • Watches up to 5 dogs/day
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$12 each way
More Services
5 Reviews
Nia took very good care of them - I didn't worry about them at all. They had a ball playing with Cleo, Cookie, and Cloudz and didn't want to leave when I came to pick them up. They can't wait to go back!
Nia is amazing! She has watched our princess on 2 separate Vacay's so far and she loves spending time with Nia and her other 4 legged friends. Nia is so kind and truly an animal lover. It's always hard to find someone to watch your loved ones who can be as patient and caring as you but we have no worries with Nia that she will watch over our dog just as if she were her own.
Read More...
Nia was a phenomenal host and very accommodating of schedule! Would highly highly recommend her any time!
Nia R was a great host! It was apparent that Brady had a good time staying at Nia's home. He looked well groomed when I picked him up on Thursday. Nia was very helpful and communicated with me during Brady's stay with updates.
Nia's home is very comfortable and the location off
Old Country Road is most convenient. I Plan to use Nia again next time I have to go out of town.
Read More...
Nia was great! She took care of our 2 shih tzus for 10 days. She sent us multiple photo updates every day. They looked pretty happy and healthy when we got them and they looked like they got along with her dog. I would recommend her to take care of your puppy with no hesitation.
Read More...
Read All 5 Reviews