Fun sitter, Home Made Cookies!

View All
11
Photos

Desiree S.

9 Reviews
5 Repeat Guests
$28/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 46 mins
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

Desiree's Resident Pets

Ixchel
Mixed
Female
7 yr 9 mo old
Rory
Mixed
Male
4 yr 9 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Caged birds or Reptiles

Desiree's House

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets
Smoke-free home

About Desiree

13 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hello and thank you for visiting my profile! My name is Desiree. I am 31, have two wonderful dogs, Ixchel (pronounced e-shell) and Rory, as well as my husband, Randle.

We live in a house just a few blocks away from the UNM golf course, which is open in the evening for dogs. The house is wood and linoleum, but we have quite a few rugs to put down for pups that have trouble with slipping. The bedroom is carpeted, we have two couches for pups to lay on, as well as a full size futon on the living room floor. Plenty of toys and home made cookies too! The backyard is mostly dirt with some grassy bits, there isn't much shade right now, but pups get as much outside time as they want and can come in when they get too hot or cold. I don't have a dog door, but both of my dogs know to ring a bell when it's time to go outside, then it's supervised for as long as they need. We also have a small kiddie pool for those water loving dogs.

**We are fixing up the backyard this year, so it looks a little crazy right now**

A typical day at home consists of waking up around 8 am, this is when my husband gets home from work, I feed the dogs breakfast, they are required to sit and wait for theirs (it would be up to you if you want your pups to do that). After breakfast, we go outside for a potty break, Rory does a lap around the yard while Ix basks in the sunlight. when everyone is done, I go about my daily chores while Randle sleeps. I cook, clean, and do short grocery trips if needed. I work with my dogs during the day with training, Rory has only been with us since February 2016, and didn't come from the happiest situation, so daily training is very important for him. After some fun training, we all relax, I may be sewing in the back of the house, watching T.V. in the living room, or playing video games in the bedroom, all of these rooms are dog friendly. 5 pm is dinnertime, again my dogs are required to sit/wait. Randle wakes up at 7pm, we have the human's dinner, then all go for a walk or throw the ball around. Rory is very fearful of cars, so his walks are one on one, or with Ixchel only. When we get home, it's time to cool off and get ready for bed, I lie in bed for a couple of hours reading, around midnight I am usually asleep. Both Ixchel and Rory sleep in bed with me, but if your dog wants to join, the bed is big enough for one more.

I bake dog cookies often, Ixchel has a minor wheat allergy, so I've become very comfortable over the years with cooking for dogs with allergies. I have had a couple of handicapped dogs over the years, Pooka was incontinent, Balius was a three legged dog, Ixchel has pins in her knee and can't bend it, and Rory does not have a physical handicap, but he has a bit of mental and physical scarring from his past life. I pride myself in my patience and empathy when it comes to dogs. I care deeply for them, and want every dog to have the best life possible.

**Because of Rory's lack of confidence, I cannot have an overly dominant dog in the house. Rory is the ultimate submissive, and does not stick up for himself, a few pooches we have encountered have taken advantage of that and cornered, or tried to bite him.**

Muddy paw prints and tons of hair are a part of my daily life and I wouldn't have it any other way!
Read More about Desiree...
Contact Desiree
Can administer oral medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Separation anxiety
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Desiree S.

9 Reviews
5 Repeat Guests
$28/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 46 mins
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated January 22, 2017

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Desiree's Home
$28 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
9 Reviews
Great sitter!
Desiree was very responsive before and during my dogs stay. She was flexible with drop off and pick up times. She text me frequently during their stay and would send pictures and videos of my dogs. We will definitely be using Desiree again!
Desiree was amazing! My sitter had to cancel 2 days before I left for vacation, and I was in a panic because my dog is epileptic and currently needs medicine 5 times a day. She was quick to respond, super friendly and really reassured me that my dog was in good hands. She was also kind enough to work around my crazy flight schedule. I highly recommend her!
Read More...
Read All 9 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!