Edgewater Dog Lovers

View All
27
Photos

Amanda S.

17 Reviews
6 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 5 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
No Puppies

Amanda's Resident Pets

Howie aka HTD (Howie The Dog)
Yorkshire Terrier
Male
1 yr 7 mo old

Amanda's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Amanda

3 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
My husband and I are young professionals living in Edgewater, Chicago. We don't have kids yet but we do have our little Morkie Howie :) We are both dog lovers and I volunteer at Paws 3 times a week to spend time with the rescued dogs. I walk them, play with them, and try to help them find a home. We also watch our friends and families dogs when they go out of town so we have lots of experience caring for other peoples dogs. We live close the Lake and have lots of grass in our neighborhood which dogs really seem to enjoy :) There are also a lot of great spots for photo sessions with our little doggy models :) Clients always tell me that I should do dog photos professionally and am looking to pursue that in the future. In fact I was very excited when Dog Vacay featured one of my photos on their Facebook page! We are also very flexible as far as drop off and pick up times because I work from home and as long as we are in town (we love to travel) we are cool with last minute requests. Our only request is that your dog is a smaller breed because we live in a 2BR Apt. and space is limited. Plus Howie prefers playmates closer to his size!
Read More about Amanda...
Contact Amanda
Can administer oral medicine

Amanda S.

17 Reviews
6 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 5 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 16, 2016

Credentials

Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Amanda's Home
$35 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Amanda's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
17 Reviews
My two small chihuahuas enjoyed staying with them during the day. They were very flexible with my pickup and drop off time and took my boys on multiple walks when they were not allowing themselves to just make themselves at home.
Great experience again! I could tell from the texts and photos that Holly was well cared for and loved with Jake and Amanda.
Jake and Amanda took really good care of my Holly. She had never boarded or stayed with someone that wasn't family before, but we planned a trip back east that was 8 days long. Dog Vacay was the perfect solution for us. Jake and Amanda were very responsive to emails and questions. And I got texts and photos of holly while we were gone, so I knew she was doing well. I hope to use them next time we travel, because I could tell how much they really did love her!!
Read More...
We were delighted with Amanda and Jake's care of Jacob! Jacob really did seem rather disappointed to have to return home.
Our dog Winston had a blast! We received regular updates (including pictures) so that we knew he was having a good time. We would definitely let our pup stay with them again!
Amanda and her husband, Jake, were awesome! We had a meet and greet prior so my Frankie could meet their pup, Howie, and just make sure it was a good fit. They sent me daily updates while I was gone and Frankie seemed to have a really great time! Since it was over the holiday, they even took him to their family Thanksgiving which meant he wasn't alone all night. They were super responsive both before and after the visit. I felt totally comfortable having them watch Frankie and will definitely be using them in the future. Highly recommend!!
Read More...
Amanda and Jake were great with Walter. I was able to bring him by a couple of days ahead of time to see their place and meet them, so by the time I had to leave him - he was already familiar! They were flexible with my pick up time when I got held up. And the most winning seal of approval, Walter had the sad eyes and when he had to leave!
Read More...
Amanda and Jake were wonderful. Truly. I felt incredibly confident leaving my little Rory with them. I am so grateful for how stress free the process was and how lovely Amanda and Jake are. Rory got to chill out and be adored in a dog-loving home and I got to enjoy my evening feeling a complete peace of mind she was in good hands while I was out. Communication was easy and the process was effortless. So appreciative to find them!
Read More...
This was my first time using Dogvacay, and everything was a piece of cake. I received frequent updates and photos and my dog came home happy and tired. I'll definitely use Amanda and Jake again. Overall it was a great experience.
Amanda and Jake were "pawsome", we would definitely recommend them as reliable pet sitters. From the initial meet and greet to pick up, Amanda and Jake made us feel comfortable with their constant updates and communication. Howie The Dog also contributed to a successful experience with his toys and playfulness. In addition, Amanda sent us some really cool photos she took of CoCo Puffs during the visit!!!
Read More...
Amanda and Jake were wonderful hosts! I appreciated their proactive communications and updates throughout Fritzi's stay. They were very professional, friendly, and flexible with pick up/drop off times. Fritzi seemed very happy to stay with them and their adorable yorkie, Howie. We had a great experience!
Read More...
Amanda was great. Woolly loved staying with her. Highly recommended!
Our experience with Amanda (as well as Jake and Howie!) was fantastic. They took care of our dog Stewart, a relatively new rescue, for several days and it was a great experience for us and our dog. Amanda is highly responsive, was flexible about drop-off and pick-up, and kept us updated while we were away.

I would have Stewart stay with Amanda and family again in a heartbeat, and hope she's available the next time we leave town!
Read More...
Amanda and Jake did a great job taking care of our dog Ernie this past weekend. Ernie had a great time taking walks, playing with their dog Howie, and visiting Lincoln Park! I was sent photo updates throughout the weekend and could tell Ernie was comfortable and having fun. Drop off and pick up were very flexible which I appreciated a lot. I would definitely contact Amanda and Jake for future dog-sitting needs!
Read More...
Another excellent experience with Amanda and Jake. They were super flexible as I extended my vacations at the last minute and they were willing to take care of Mady for two extra nights. Highly recommended.
Amanda and Jake were great with Mady! First of all: they were very quick to respond to my reservation request and flexible with drop off and pick up times. You can tell that they love dogs as they asked me questions of Mady's behavior and habits. During my vacation they sent me a picture via DogVacay and provided a brief update via text message. I highly recommend them and I will ask for their help next time I have to leave town.
Read More...
Amanda and her husband were amazing puppy sitters for my puppy Bia!! They took Bia to the park with their adorable dog Howie and played with her, and even took her for a long walk early in the morning so she was all ready to get in the car when I picked her up! They were great and super flexible about pickup/drop off- definitely recommend them! Amanda is an awesome puppy-sitter!
Read More...
Read All 17 Reviews