EDDs Doggie Pals

View All
40
Photos

Elaine D D.

Online Now!
6 Reviews
3 Repeat Guests
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 10 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
No Puppies
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated
List of Breeds Not Accepted
I Don't Know

Elaine D's Resident Pets

Wescott
West Highland White Terrier
Male
10 yr 0 mo old
Jill
Australian Terrier
Female
6 yr 2 mo old

Elaine D's House

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced & locked
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets
Smoke-free home

About Elaine D

39 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
My small doggies and yours can pal around for easy-going playtime, field trips, naps, treats, and more!

I have been a rescue dog owner since 1978; have fostered a 65 lb dog for 10 months, a 30 lb dog for 2.5 months, and a feisty kitten for 4 months. Currently I have 2 resident dogs, In the past I have had up to 5 cats in the house at one time in addition to 2 dogs, I have nursed dogs through minor illnesses, surgeries, stroke recovery, and cancer. For several years I also maintained a 20 gallon aquarium.

I work primarily from home, which is conveniently located near the State Fairgrounds. The Albuquerque Sunport is only 3 miles west of my home; I-25 is about 4 miles west. My 1951 single story house has hardwood and linoleum floors, with many washable throw rugs for traction and comfort. There are two small steps into the house, and 2 steps into the backyard.

In my home I only accept dogs 25 lbs and under. However, I enjoy caring for larger Guest dogs as well; this includes visiting them at home, walking, and transportation. I have experience with several larger breeds between 30 and 90 lbs. Cat sitting is also something I enjoy very much (see pictures).

I do appreciate getting a list of specific words you use as commands for your pets, because it makes our time together easier. If I am taking care of a Guest still in training, I will continue your training already in progress, but I am not a professional trainer. Your pal probably won't come home knowing 20 new tricks!!

The morning schedule will be what the Guest dogs are used to (going out to backyard for yard patrol and potty, then in for breakfast). We hang out inside in the sunny spots for awhile, then go outside when the weather is nice. Sometimes the dogs get a car ride if I have errands which can be done at drive-up windows. We often stop at a park on the way home to get a little grass between our toes! Since I have home office work to do most days, the dogs will snooze or look out the window while I'm working. Sometimes they even lay across my feet if I stay seated long enough! After my lunch they might get a dog cookie or mini carrots (if okay with owner).

Afternoons I have rehearsals or appointments, give classical music lessons, and practice. Students coming for lessons usually visit with the dogs a few minutes before the lesson starts, then the dogs wander off to nap. Most evenings I am home and we may take a short walk before dinner. After dinner is always indoor play time for my resident Doggie Pals, and the Guests are encouraged to join in! Then everyone hangs out while I do quiet things like reading, sewing, or watching tv. All doggies go potty last thing, then sleep where their owner specifies. Mine are often on the bed, but not always.

Dog cookbooks and online recipes provide lots of ideas for appropriate snacks and meal supplements, unless the owner specifies no treats or human food. I split the daily portions into breakfast and dinner so they get fed twice a day, usually around 8:00 am and 6:00 pm. When needed, I will create separate feeding areas using doorway gates.

Lap time, snuggling, and ear/belly rubs are provided throughout the day and evening, pretty much whenever I sit down. There is a cedar chest in front of the living room picture window where the dogs can sit to keep tabs on the neighborhood, and I leave my doors open when weather permits, so they can see out. My pictures show many of these activities.

The backyard has a large concrete patio area, three large shade trees, a few bushes, some areas of wood chips from stump grinding, and mostly dirt for the rest. There is a dog-free 10' X 30' fenced-in garden area, and a small locked tool shed. The whole back yard is about 60' by 60' with a concrete patio of 24' by 30.' Guests will get plenty of play time or sunbathing in the backyard. Ball throwing, puppy pounce, keep away, kick ball, rope tug, bird & squirrel chasing (really!) contribute to the Vacay fun. Squirrels, prairie dogs, and roadrunners also show up from time to time. The dogs have never been fast enough to actually catch any of this wildlife; it's just a mad dash from the backdoor to the spot where the animal was.

Guests should bring their furry babies' regular food, medications if needed, special snacks if they prefer, food/water bowls, a favorite blanket or T-shirt that smells like home for snuggle time, and a crate or bed if they normally use one. DogVacay suggests you leave their favorite toys at home since they can become community property, which sometimes results in a less than pleasant stay. Plenty of toys are provided for everyone as you can see from the pictures!

My doggie pals and I would love to have you visit for sleepovers, day care, or even shorter play dates (request a custom quote for those!). Your dog will have a wonderful time with lots of individual attention.
Read More about Elaine D...
Contact Elaine D
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Separation anxiety
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Leash Pulling
  • Advanced senior issues

Elaine D D.

Online Now!
6 Reviews
3 Repeat Guests
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 10 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated March 16, 2017

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Web Training Complete
This sitter has completed an online presentation meant to provide an overview of sitting responsibilities.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Elaine D's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 2 - 4 hours/day
  • 5+ potty breaks/day
  • 1 walk/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Elaine D's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/day
Check-ins
$15 /visit
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$12 each way
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
More Services
3 Testimonials
Oct 2016
Elaine is wonderful with dogs and you can tell she loves meeting new ones. She has taken care of our pup for a few years now, and our dog gets so excited when we pull up to her house! He resident dogs are sweet and friendly, and she has a nice big fenced backyard for exercise and exploring. She's my go-to every time I'm in town.
Read More...
Oct 2016
Elaine took care of my dog for an extended period of time while I was out of the country. She kept in touch with me the whole time and paid attention to anything that may have indicated a problem with his health and well-being. In other words she treated him like he was her own beloved pet. The best proof she took great care of him is that when I came home after 10 months he was a happy, healthy, and contented dog.
Read More...
Oct 2016
Elaine is dependable, reliable and dogs love her! My pets were always relaxed and happy when I got back home so I knew she had treated them well. Thanks!
6 Reviews
My dog was comfortable and well cared for during her day with Elaine.
Thank goodness for Elaine. She has been a godsent to us. Our Mother broke her pelvis and has been unable to care for her dog Milo .Elaine stepped right in an hosted Milo. We had so many great pictures that really has helped my mom with her recovery. right in an hosted Milo. We had so many great pictures that really has helped my mom with her recovery. He gets walked and appears to be so happy. We were so luck to connect with Elaine and we would highly recommend her to care for your pets!
Thanks Elaine!
Read More...
Elaine did a great job with Prissy. I would use her again!
Read All 6 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!