DC Dog Care

View All
24
Photos

Rachel L.

8 Reviews
3 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
No Puppies

Rachel's Resident Pets

Dakota
Australian Cattle Dog
Female
11 yr 0 mo old

Rachel's Apartment

View Neighborhood Map
Small Balcony
100% fenced & locked
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside

About Rachel

8 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi! We are Rachel and Will and we have a sweet 11-year-old female Australian Cattle dog, named Dakota, in the Columbia Heights neighborhood of DC. We live in a ground floor condo (with carpeted stairs that go down to the bedrooms) and have a private patio that provides excellent squirrel watching and sun bathing for dogs.

We would love to have the opportunity to help care for your dog in our home for overnights. We do not work from home, so during the work week Dakota is typically home by herself for about 9 hours (7:30-4:30). We still give her a long walk in the morning and evening. So if you are in need of overnight dog care during the workweek we can only look after dogs that are used to being at home for several hours. Weekends we are able to spend tons more time at home, hiking trails, and walking through the city with Dakota. I am more flexible with working from home and/or having time off during holidays and summer.

We are happy to try to be as flexible as possible with your dog's needs (e.g., preferences for feeding, sleeping, walking). We can try to arrange to pick up your dog if you do not have reliable transportation. Looking forward to meeting you!
Read More about Rachel...
Contact Rachel
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Leash Pulling

Rachel L.

8 Reviews
3 Repeat Guests
$35/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Same day bookings are OK
  • Responds within 2 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated February 20, 2017

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Web Training Complete
This sitter has completed an online presentation meant to provide an overview of sitting responsibilities.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Rachel's Home
$35 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for more than 4 hours/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$15 each way
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
8 Reviews
Rachel took great care of my 15 yo pup, Sadie! She sent some adorable pictures that showed what fun they were having. Sadie came home well rested (which is key for her at her age) and happy. Though she was sad to leave her new friend Kota, Rachel's sweet pup who gladly welcomed Sadie into her home. Thank you Rachel!
Read More...
Rachel is fantastic! She is flexible and very responsive. We always feel comfortable sending our pup to stay with her and have no doubt that she is well cared for. Rachel is our first choice of dog sitters.
Rachel is wonderful! She took such good care of Audrey when I was away and sent lots of photos. Audrey had a great time staying with Rachel, and she even let her sleep in the bed with her. I would definitely recommend her to anyone and I know Audrey is already looking forward to her next stay at her house.
Read More...
Rachel, took great care of our dog and was always very responsive throughout the process
Rachel was a fantastic host. We left our dog Soup with her for a week while we were abroad. She sent us daily photos and updates, and was wonderful communicating throughout. We knew that Soup was in good hands and enjoying his stay. I'd absolutely recommend Rachel!
Read More...
Rachel was wonderful with Finn. He is an older dog (13 years) who needs a bit more attention and care. Rachel understood and made the adjustments necessary to care for him. I really appreciated her attentiveness. This made it easy for me to leave him with her, and their super-sweet dog Dakota. Btw: Dakota is the best!
Read More...
Rachel is great! She was responsive and easy to make arrangements with. Our dog Madison was well taken care of and happy when we picked her up. I definitely recommend Rachel and hope that Madison can stay with her again in the future.
Rachel was great. We left our 2 dogs with her, one of whom is not always great with other dogs. Rachel was patient and helpful in introducing our dog to hers, and I could tell that she would handle any issue calmly. She kept us updated with texts and pictures. Would definitely send our dogs to her again.
Read More...
Read All 8 Reviews