City retreat for your furry friend

View All
7
Photos

Giorgina G.

5 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$45/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Responds within a few days
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK

Giorgina's Resident Pets

Oscar
Rottweiler
Male
1 yr 7 mo old

Giorgina's House

View Neighborhood Map
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture

About Giorgina

10 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi!
I'm new to boarding dogs for strangers but no stranger to animals in my home. From an early age and my mother's dismay, an animal in need was always welcome. I have experience with avians, reptilians, rodents, felines, canines, and equines.

Being in the city, I only have one dog in my life: a charming Rottweiler named Oscar that I've had since he was 8 weeks old (he's almost a year old now). He is very friendly and will be happy to keep your pup company. While sometimes exuberant, he's very socialized and can play well with even the smallest creatures. If your furry companion doesn't like to play, no problem -- my house is easily sectioned off. Raising a puppy requires it. :)

PUPPIES
I happily except puppies, even very young ones. Having gone through the housebreaking game in the last year, I'm willing to help others out. I still have exercise pens, a variety of crate sizes, wood-floored areas, and Nature's Miracle to support the process. I do not have a fenced in back or front yard, however I do have garden space in front of my house that I use as an elimination space. Other preliminary training (e.g., sit, down, stay, off, leave it, etc.) is fresh on my brain as well, so I would be happy to help reinforce.

SENIORS
I also accept the more elderly -- other than a flight of steps to my porch, I have no stairs in my house and carpeting in many of the rooms. I lift my pup routinely (90lbs), so unless your friend is bigger than that, I can probably get him or her into my house without a problem. I haven't had to deal with many issues that accompany some seniors in a while, however I'm willing to accept them provided we have a conversation about it.

AGGRESSION
While I'm not a dog trainer, I do understand the basics regarding different kinds of dog "aggression." Given I have a dog, I can't accept dogs that are unsocialized or unfriendly towards other dogs (this doesn't count so much for puppies, as they are in the process of figuring it out). For situational aggression (e.g., on leash, resource guarding, etc.), let's talk and see what can be worked out.

A TYPICAL DAY
As I work from home, I typically feed and walk Oscar at 8am and 4pm. He needs lots of exercise, so his walks are usually at least 2mi. Sometimes I'll take him for a midday walk as well. I do have a bike with a dog trailer if your pup would be too tired for that length of a walk and is Oscar's size, else I have slings and a backpack I can carry him or her in (from when Oscar was a wee one).

I generally work from about 9am till 4pm, and I like to break up my work day with regular canine play time or snuggles. All of my work spaces (living room, office, and dining room) have ample space for self-entertainment while being under supervision while I work as well.

OTHER DETAILS
- I think furniture rights are generally earned, however if your friend has free rein at home, I will oblige him or her here as well.
- My bed would not fit a canine Oscar's size, however a smaller bed fellow would be okay with me if that is what is preferred. I also have a few dog beds and crates that can be put in my bedroom. I can also set him or her up in a different room if he or she doesn't sleep in your bedroom at home.
- I do have housemates. They are all men and all very dog-friendly (Oscar approves of them).
- I can accommodate most any diet/feeding schedule. I had my reasons for choosing Oscar's, and I would imagine you have reasons for your canine, so I happily defer to your instructions. I have a refrigerator and freezer dedicated to dog food, so if you have stuff that needs that kind of storage, no problem.
- Every few days, I'll take Oscar on an adventure -- to a new park, a beach, a restaurant, etc. Provided your pup is up for it, I'll happily take him or her along. :)

PLEASE NOTE
I strongly prefer to know the following in advance (or at the very least, at dropoff):

- what is his/her meal schedule?
- what are his/her elimination schedule/habits (e.g., on command, your yard, on a walk, in a dog park, how many times a day, when, etc.)?
- how many walks does he/she get per day and how long/far?
- in general, what does a typical day look like for your furry friend?
- when is bed time? is bed a crate, their bed, your bed, etc.?

Being away from his/her human is stressful enough -- providing this information helps me establish a routine your friend is already used to.
Read More about Giorgina...
Contact Giorgina
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Separation anxiety
  • Aggressive behavior
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues

Giorgina G.

5 Reviews
1 Repeat Guest
$45/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 3 days notice required for bookings
  • Responds within a few days
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated September 27, 2016

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Giorgina's Home
$45 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • 3-4 potty breaks/day
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 20 miles
5 Reviews
Dallas has stayed with Giorgina several times and every time he comes back happy, energetic, and full of life. Giorgina always provides feedback on the stay and how things went. Her home is set up wonderfully for dogs to play and frolic around in a safe setting. I highly recommend leaving your furry friend in Giorgina's capable hands. She is always my first choice for my sitting needs.
Read More...
Georgian was great! She replied to our initial request promptly and booked us shortly after. She took the time to put our not-so-active, older dog (she's 11) in a separate room away from her sweet but rambunctious dog Oscar. More importantly, Tillie was relaxed (and brushed!) when we picked her up – something that hasn't always been the case with other dog sitters. We will definitely have Tillie stay with her again.
Read More...
Giorgina was awesome from start to finish. She is very personable and reassuring. Her home is set up nicely with a doggie play area and she really knows her stuff. Dallas was in great spirits when I picked him up and it was obvious he enjoyed the environment he was in. I recommend Girogina (Gina) to anyone needing a home away from home for their little guy/gal. Thank you Gina.
Read More...
Georgina was great with our pups and was very accomodating and responsive. She sent us lots of pics and the doggies really seemed to have a good time..
She took him out and he was really tired after his stay! She has another dog and they got along. She was very comfortable taking care of Grover :)
Read All 5 Reviews