Anita's Dog Pad

View All
6
Photos

Anita W.

$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 7 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Vaccinated
List of Breeds Not Accepted
Akita, Bullmastiff

Anita's Resident Pets

Amahl
Belgian Malinois
Male
9 yr 3 mo old
Kaia
Belgian Malinois
Female
1 yr 11 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Cats

Anita's House

View Neighborhood Map
Medium Yard
100% fenced & locked
Smoke-free home
Dog door access

About Anita

50 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
My two Belgian malinois are central in my life, and guest dogs are treated the same way. They can go everywhere around home (inside and out) with me, and we hike every day on local trails. All-day hikes in the foothills or mountains are also a possibility.

My place is set up great for dogs. I have 6-foot cedar fencing all around my 1/3-acre lot, and cross-fencing separating the backyard if needed (for individual training, for instance). Any less-hardy planting areas are protected by fencing too, so the dogs can play freely on the lawn and among the trees. The main house has a dog door into the kitchen and hallway and "dog room"/office, with baby gates protecting the living room. I stay with my two dogs in a little cottage off the patio. It has a dog door too, and a way to separate backyard dogs and front yard dogs if needed. My dogs sleep in my bed with me, but there really is not any more room, so guest dogs would sleep on cushions in the cottage with us on the floor (or they could sleep on the porch if they want, especially if it is hot).

Orangegate primitive park is a 5-minute walk from my place; very nice local people walk their dogs there and we mostly know each other. I also take my dogs to Swan Creek and Clarks Creek. We walk at least an hour every day, sometimes more. I also could take one boarded dog on all-day hikes in the mountains if an owner wanted me to and if it was well trained and seasoned.

I've loved dogs and owned them my whole life. As a child I worked with my dog, a border collie/lab, almost every day and showed her in 4-H (as well as training and showing my ponies). Now I have two wonderful Belgian malinois. The senior mal is a well-seasoned trail dog in whom I have total confidence off-leash (called him off a bear once). He is very confident, but will ignore a dog who is not nice (he doesn't fight). My younger mal is a rescue. I've only had her for a few months, but she is incredibly sweet and also very athletic; she is crazy about toys and playing. She would LOVE some young friends to wrestle with, and she gets along great with other dogs.

I'm not a professional trainer, but I love learning about training and people comment all the time on how well-mannered my dogs are. I am reading books that expand on my own philosophy, which is that dogs are our partners, not our servants. Training should help them learn how to fit into our human pack so there is as little stress as possible for all members and so that all feel valued and loved. Dogs should do things with and for us because we help them see why it is to their benefit and how it helps their pack function at its best. Also, training should be fun. Most importantly, humans are the ones who need the most training – about how to understand their dogs and relate effectively and enjoyably with them.

Any guest dogs have to be good with cats, as I have one. He runs around outside keeping rodents away, and sleeps in the cottage a lot during the day.

My mom lives with me and loves animals too, so she would provide some attention.
Read More about Anita...
Contact Anita
Can administer oral medicine

Anita W.

$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 7 hours
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 15, 2016
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Anita's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Anita's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 3 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$20 /half-hour
$30 /hour
  • Willing to travel 3 miles
Training
$35 /hour
More Services