Amanda's home away from home

View All
12
Photos

Amanda L.

Online Now!
1 Testimonial
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 7 days notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 5 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Spayed or Neutered

Amanda's Resident Pets

Jack
Labrador Retriever
Male
2 yr 10 mo old
Rodeo
Border Collie
Male
5 yr 1 mo old
Sugar
Australian Cattle Dog
Female
6 yr 1 mo old

Amanda's House

View Neighborhood Map
Children at home (13-18 years old)
Medium Yard
100% fenced
Smoke-free home
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets

About Amanda

20 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
Hi, I am Amanda Lowrie. I am 37 years old and have a 14 year old daughter. I got my first puppy, Harley, when I was 19 and he was my only pet for 16 years. By the time Harley reached 16 years old he was hard of hearing and going blind from cataracts. I had been thinking about adopting another dog when my friend told me her neighbor had a foster dog that needed a home immediately. I ISwas told the dog had issues but was sweet. When I met the foster dog, Rodeo, I was shocked by his condition, but instantly fell in love with him, It turned out that Rodeo had been used as a bait dog. He was malnourished, with scars and bite marks over his whole body. His coat was thin and missing hair in spots, and he flinched and shook with fear when I went to pet him, thinking I was going to strike him, Rodeo was not used to kindness and did not know how to react. The foster home was not a good fit as there were 8 other dogs there, 7 of which were very aggressive. Because of Rodeo's submissive disposition the dogs would gang up on him, not letting him eat and biting him when he tried. When I told the foster mom that I wanted Rodeo and could take him that day, she asked if I would be interested in rescuing two dogs. It turns out that an Australian cattle dog, Sugar, had been placed there shortly after Rodeo and from the first day there she did not leave his side. Apparently Sugar made it her mission to protect Rodeo and she managed to keep the other dogs at bay. I could not say no after hearing the story.
I took Sugar and Rodeo home that day. They both got along fine with my old boy Harley, and Rodeo soon became Harley's eyes, leading him around the house and yard. Harley died a few months later from old age. It took a few months to get Rodeo used to kindness, to prove to him that he will never experience abuse again. Now my Rodeo is a beautiful, confidant dog and has not flinched in years.
About 6 months after getting Rodeo and Sugar we moved from Oregon to Nampa, ID. Shortly after that I started to take the pups to the dog park. One day at the park Rodeo stole another dogs ball and refused to give it up, forcing me (who is not terribly social) to talk to the gentleman who owned the ball my dog stole. That gentleman and I are now engaged to be married and we never forget that it was our dogs that got us together. We are now a blended family of 3 dogs and a teenager. My dogs are my babies, We are an active family and take the dogs on daily walks,hikes, or go the dog park. I love them with all my heart, and I will love your dog too. I treat everyone with respect and kindness and have a lot of love to give.
Read More about Amanda...
Contact Amanda
Can administer oral medicine
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Separation anxiety
  • Leash Pulling

Amanda L.

Online Now!
1 Testimonial
$25/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • 7 days notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 5 minutes
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Flexible

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated November 8, 2016
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Amanda's Home
$25 /night
  • Watches up to 1 dog /night
  • Dogs will never be left unattended
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 2 walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Amanda's Home
$20 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Dog Walking
$15 /half-hour
$25 /hour
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Home Visits
$20 /visit
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 5 miles
More Services
1 Testimonial
Nov 2016
Amanda loves dogs. She is patient with them while giving them discipline that they need. She understands the importance of exercise and well timed rewards in developing a healthy relationship with her animals. Whether it is a hot summer day, or 20 below zero she gets her dogs out every day. Her dream is to own and run a sanctuary for homeless dogs.
Read More...