AllFurLuv Pet Care

View All
17
Photos

Melissa L.

17 Reviews
17 Repeat Guests
$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 2.5 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Pet Requirements

  • 1-20 lbs
  • 20-40 lbs
  • 40-80 lbs
  • 80+ lbs
All Ages OK
Must Be Spayed or Neutered
Must Be Vaccinated
List of Breeds Not Accepted
Pit Bull - Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Pit Bull - American Staffordshire Terrier, Pit Bull - American Pit Bull Terrier, Pit Bull - Bull Terrier

Melissa's Resident Pets

Davidson
Mixed Breed
Male
16 yr 10 mo old
Dakota
Golden Retriever
Male
3 yr 4 mo old
Other Pets & Animals: Cats

Melissa's House

View Neighborhood Map
Large Yard
Pets allowed on furniture
Air-conditioned inside
Great for senior pets
Smoke-free home

About Melissa

26 Years Experience Caring For Dogs
I have had cats and dogs ALL of my life, taken in wild rabbits, birds, chipmunks, squirrels and turtles that ended up in my yard or pool. The majority of my animals have lived EXTREMELY long lives- the oldest cat was 22 and my oldest dog is currently 16. Both of my dogs are beyond friendly they believe anyone who visits my home is there to play with them and will give kisses freely. I have dealt with major illnesses, medications, from emptying the bladder from a partially paralyzed cat to maintaining wound care with heat compresses and antibiotics and chest massages due to terminal illness when my 14 year old dog was struggling to breathe (this practice that I learned from my vet gave my beloved Harley and extra 6 months with her brother and I). Ultimately the time came where I knew in my heart that it was time for her to cross the Rainbow Bridge. I knew she knew how loved she was and my dogs have had the luxury of running free on an acre of open land, chasing frogs around the pool, swimming or just lying on the top step of the pool to cool off, sleeping on couches, beds, dog beds, earning treats, learning new tricks and acclimating to many other dogs I have taken in, rescued or cared for while friends were away. I have trained many dogs on Invisible Fence- no matter what age and they have free run of the house (unless not completely potty trained). I often make home made dinners for my dogs rather than give them "processed food" and have even spoon fed dogs natural baby food or any other food to help them learn control in their eating habits. I keep baskets of toys inside and outside and there is plenty of napping space including a queen size pull-out couch (but most end up sleeping on my bed or all beds are set up in my room so I can watch over them at night).

MEET & GREETS ARE MANDATORY- It is crucial that your pups meet my two and that they have a chance to wander and become familiar with my home and feel comfortable with me and my dogs. I recommend short stays before longer stays are reserved to ensure everyone comfort and happiness. Confirmation the day before a Meet and Greet is imperative as I allocate my time rather precisely in order to accommodate any and all other clients or "Stay-cation" bookings.

PLEASE NOTE: AND COMMUNICATIONS AFTER 10PM will be returned the next morning- I am usually up at 5AM as well as many time during the night if any of my guests can not make it through the night without a potty break.

Booking should be 4-7 days prior but if it is a repeat client we are familiar with exceptions can be made.

The best moment is a big sloppy kiss- I know my guest pups have had a happy experience!!!!!!!!!!

NOTE******* if a pup will be staying beyond 12 noon on pick up day- I charge a "daycare charge" - I will provide a separate quote for the extra "day".

Any grooming need are on an as needed basis.... I am more than happy to clip nails, bathe and trim as I did for my 14 year old "baby" and still do for both my pups - I was not comfortable with groomers after a bad experience and found once the pups were more comfortable with me and living with me that they were much more tolerant of any "beauty treatments"....... I am very patient with them and know that hate all the fuss and muss..... it may take a day or two, but if they need some TLC I am more than happy to provide it. Know your pup will be loved and treated as if this they were my own and spoiled.... it is often a very difficult adjustment for a pup to "out of their element and comfort zone".....
Read More about Melissa...
Contact Melissa
Can administer oral medicine
Can administer injected medicine
Post-surgical pets
Special Needs Accommodated
  • Pets that require medicine
  • Separation anxiety
  • Pets recovering from surgery
  • Leash Pulling
  • Not yet house-trained
  • Advanced senior issues
  • Aggressive behavior

Melissa L.

17 Reviews
17 Repeat Guests
$30/night
Other Sitters Nearby
  • Requires Meet-n-Greet to book
  • 1 day notice required for bookings
  • Responds within 2.5 hrs
  • Cancellation Policy:
    Moderate

Availability

  • Available
  • Unavailable
  • 1 Spot Left
  • Booked
  • Last updated April 19, 2017

Credentials

Background Checked
This sitter has passed a background check, which searches a variety of criminal databases.
Course 101 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Course 102 Graduate
By completing courses at DogVacay University, hosts learn about best practices to help them provide the highest quality care for your dog.
Facebook Connected
This Host has provided DogVacay access to their Facebook information.
Pack Promoter
Pack Promoters are active members of the community who promote DogVacay and hosting best practices.
Pay through DogVacay for:
Premium Pet Insurance, 24/7 Customer Support and Daily Photo Updates!

Services & Rates

Boarding Overnight At Melissa's Home
$30 /night
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/night
  • Dogs may be unsupervised for 1 - 2 hours/day
  • Dogs will have full access outside for potty breaks
  • 3+ walks/day
  • Pets can sleep wherever they want
Daycare At Melissa's Home
$25 /day
  • Watches up to 2 dogs/day
Training
$35 /hour
Grooming
$30 /min
$50 /max
Baths
$15 /bath
Pick-Up/Drop-Off
$10 each way
  • Willing to travel 10 miles
More Services
17 Reviews
Melissa was a warm and friendly hostess for our puppy, which enabled us to relax and enjoy our weekend away. She sent pictures and a video showing us how Sofie was doing and texted updates as well. The only concern we had was that the yard had a lot of dog poop all over, which is understandable given that Melissa hosts so many dogs, but made us a little nervous given our puppy's interest in exploring poop!
Read More...
Maggie was exceptionally taken care of at AllFurLuv! Melissa was wonderful. She sent lots of pictures, and made sure that we were up to speed on how Maggie was doing when we were away. Melissa will be the first person we call if we ever need to go out of town again.
Read More...
Melissa speaks dog. We had apprehensions about leaving our five month old pet with her. She asked all the right questions, anticipated our needs, and assured us that she would be able to communicate both to us and to our puppy. We think that is extraordinary!
Read More...
Read All 17 Reviews
Phone Reservation Required
Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, you cannot message this Host directly at this time. Please contact our Concierge team at 855-DOG-VACAY and we will help you find a PAWesome host!